Reaching Journey's End


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
December 29th 2006
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas Sunset at the BeachChristmas Sunset at the BeachChristmas Sunset at the Beach

Locals crowd the beach for the Christmas celebrations in Cochin.
My adventure is now almost complete and I am spending my last afternoon in our Indian office meeting colleagues who I have worked with in the past. Mumbai (Bombay) is clearly expanding with towering apartment blocks spreading out in all directions. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived in Pune by the more comfortable climate but then I was reminded that I have moved from near the Equator up to the Tropic of Capricorn. My friend and colleague Sanjay took me on a whirlwind tour in Maharashtra and he rose to the challenge when I asked to see the ‘real’ India. We went into the countryside and visited his brother’s home and pediatric hospital, and then we went to a college where I had an interactive session with some students. It was refreshing how enthusiastic these students are and the welcome we received was very warm. I almost had a tear in my eye as I wished the students well for their future careers and I do indeed see a bright future for them as India continues its phenomenal growth. The only question now is can they learn from the mistakes of the West?

Thank you all for reading my
Ajanta Cave TemplesAjanta Cave TemplesAjanta Cave Temples

One of the Buddhist Caves that were discovered by British tiger hunters in 1819.
Travelblog. I hope you have enjoyed reading it as much as I have enjoyed the adventures that provided the material for it. I wish you all a Happy New Year and a prosperous 2007.

Neil



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Buddhist Cave PaintingsBuddhist Cave Paintings
Buddhist Cave Paintings

One of the remaining story paintings in the cave temples.
Green PowerGreen Power
Green Power

India's largest earth built dam providing power in Maharashtra.
Children's HospitalChildren's Hospital
Children's Hospital

Providing affordable child care in rural India.
Principal WelcomePrincipal Welcome
Principal Welcome

Receiving a traditional welcome from the Principal during a visit to a High School.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb