Three days before departure....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trivandrum
October 14th 2011
Published: October 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

ItineraryItineraryItinerary

This is flexible
I can't believe my long anticipated departure is only three days away. By now I can barely think straight, I'm so excited. I'm all packed and I actually have all my ducks in a row, which is unusual for me, I usually leave a lot to the last minute.
Anyway, I work Sunday eve 'till 4am, but I'm going to cut out early, so I can get some sleep. At 6:40 am I'm taking the Amtrak to Chicago, then I'm making a small tour of the Shedd Aquarium. At 6 I'll head for the airport. My flight is at 8:30pm. I have Valium to help me relax and overcome my fear of flying. Hopefully I'll be able to sleep. It's 14 hours to Abu Dhabi where we have a 2 hr layover. Then it's another 4 hours to Trivandrum, where I'll be arriving at 7am. I'll be taking a cab around town to get a few things I'll be needing, like a huge bottle of mosquito spray and a big bottle of sunscreen. I also plan on picking up a prepaid cell phone so people can always get a hold of me.
I'm taking my ipod touch, which has wifi and skype. I'm also taking a camera and a netbook. I got everything used, except for my ipod, so that I won't be too upset if they get stolen. One of the weirder things I'm bringing is a pair of rubber gloves that I hope will help me stay clear of electric shock, which seems to be a common occurrence in India.
So you see, I've thought of everything.
Here is a copy of the rough outline of my itinerary. Please remember to subscribe to this blog so you"ll get the latest installment emailed to you.
Next time I write in this blog it will be from India. Wish me luck...

Advertisement



14th October 2011

And I can\'t wait to hear more as you follow your dream....
14th October 2011

Best of Luck
The very best of luck to you. i do hope you will enjoy it all. Please be safe. I will be thinking of you
17th October 2011

Go, Do. and Enjoy!!!
Ruby, I know this is a trip of a lifetime and for someone who has travelled as much as you that is something.....I love your blog and will follow you every step of the way...

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb