emerald Isle


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Alleppey
May 1st 2014
Published: May 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

We started the day early 7:00am with a bike ride around the island. The bikes today were much better than yesterday. The countryside here is just so beautiful and the people are so nice. Everyone in India (where we have been) dresses so colorful. I just love the colors.



We bike to an old temple built about 500 years ago. Everyone says hello and waves. We start stopping along the route and take pictures with locals. They seemed thrilled that we want their pictures. We even saw this older gentleman with this pole we thought he was using to knock down coconuts. Instead, he climbed it like a ladder and then climbed the rest of the tree and cut down the coconuts. It was cool. We bike for about 2 hours, then head back for breakfast. Next we have massages. One lady does them and I go first. Let’s just say, that was the most interesting massage I’ve ever had. When they say full body, well it’s almost a full body massage and they use lots of oil so you are one slippery person when they finish.



Lunch was served outside on a table in an area covered by a mosquito net. There are a lot of mosquitos here. I’m glad I’ve got the spray and the malaria pills. The lunch was served on a banana leaf and was excellent.



The afternoon was lazy with a nap then reading and then we were supposed to go canoeing around 5 but the weather said otherwise. About 6, shelly got antsy and took off biking. Well around 6:30, they came around to canoe. I went with the people from NY and we had a blast. It turned dark and was just beautiful. We got back around 7:30 and met the new people from France. Dinner was great and then we listened to some local singers.



You probably won’t hear from me for a couple of days. Tomorrow we get on the houseboat and I’m sure we don’t have internet on it, plus the electrical plug here is not one of the many I packed. I’m borrowing one from the NY folks for tonight to get everything charged up. I’ll blog again when I get a chance.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb