Jog Falls and farewell to India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
August 4th 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First I should probably apologise for not saying I was ok in the last blog, after the bombs went off around Bangalore. I am ok! They were only small. And they happen all over the world. Some volunteer's parents bought air tickets for them to go home early, but mine wisely were not too worried. Terrorists want you to live in fear, and you shouldn't change your plans or be frightened because then they have won. And it was pretty unlikely that more would go off near by once they had stopped. Sadly one person died though, and the bombs have continued in different cities.


The evenings of this week were mainly spent saying goodbye to old volunteers (I am the only one left!) which was a bit woeful but we will hopefully all meet up in London when we are all back.


This is the very very clever Esther remembering the poetry we learned.



It was sad to say bye to the girls, but they made me cute glittery goodbye and friendship cards and I gave them hello kitty hair stuff that I secretly wanted for myself!

Here is the wonderful and lovely Priya proving that monsoon rains shouldn't stop you doing anything! Tis genius, but she is the only person I have seen doing this, so if I tried it I would get stared at even more... maybe save it for england!





Thursday we went to a local friend's house for his birthday where he made us sumptuous amounts of food, we made fun of each other's languages and accents and watched Britney Spears in concert dvd... a bomb had gone off outside his house the week before but the damage wasn't too bad.


As the group gets smaller and smaller I moved into the house to share with another girl who started with me. New people started arriving and they all seem lovely! So the orphans etc will hopefully continue to get good care from i-to-i volunteers.


Friday me, my new room mate and the other intern from Rave got on the overnight train to Shimoga where we could get a bus to Jog Falls. The train was a new experience, quite easy to sleep on as we had bunk beds, but at the station it smelled as people continue using the hole/toilet when the train is parked.


We got to Shimoga about 6 in the morning, had a traditional breakfast of Idli and Upma, (dipped in a spicy chutney and yogurt mixture) which are cakey breads made of rice and reminded me of doughnuts. Everything reminds me of weird english foods here and people laugh at my comparisons... I do miss my marmite on toast though!



Rave intern friend waiting for a bus which may or may not come...



At last we came to the glorious Jog Falls, the highest waterfalls in Asia.






The King of the waterfalls, mister Monkey Brat.





And his blushing posse enjoying the view.





Also called "jogada gundi", the waterfalls lie in the Western ghats. The four streams are names after the way they mystically fall. Raja (King) is called so because of its apparently ’dignified’ and ’serene’ fall. It falls 250m below forming a 40 m deep pool.


Rani (Queen), also called Lady has a stream that is winding and twisting which is said to resemble the movements of a female dancer


Roarer has a trajectory that appears out of a mass of rocks, making a tremendous amount of noise (hence the name).


Rocket is the final stream which consists of a large volume of water streaming out of a small opening at a very high speed.


We were lucky to come at this time of year as the monsoon rains make sure we get a spectacular experience.








Me and my beautiful room mate enjoying the breathtaking waterfalls... and avoiding the monsoon rain.



me, avoiding rain drops.



We saw a 'prohibited, danger, death' sign on a wall with a skull and cross bones, and behind it some unfinished steps leading down towards what could possibly be the bottom of the waterfalls. So naturally, we climbed over the wall, and trekked downwards.





The steps were strong and I think the sign is there as so many people slip and die that its for health and safety, meaning they don't get sued as its our own fault!





Soon we stopped at one of the semi legal dry stalls where people sold sugary drinks, nuts, and the most important item for an energetic walk - single cigarettes. (Nice and healthy!) We sheltered with this guy who has been working on this part of the mountain for 30 years and has been carrying his wares up and down that whole time.





But soon the steps turned into rocks, and after being told how many people died doing so, we headed back up.





So despite my hellish sniffles and sore throat, I slept a bit on the bus on the way back, ready for my last day in India. I do not think my heart will ever leave this country, and even if it is not for a while, I can definitely see myself returning in a few years. Next time I would like to go to Rajasthan or Kashmir, somewhere up North where the views are even better and the mountains even bigger.


Some things about Bangalore that nobody tells you, but that are Pretty Useful




Alas, I must depart as my plane leave for Bangkok tonight. Farewell beautiful people and country! xxxx





Advertisement



4th August 2008

hi
I have gone thru most of your India blogs and all I want to say is thank you for writing such beautiful things about my country and for your very peculiar and apt observations. Its very hard to find a blog on India which does not consist sulking or whining (not that I blame the "sulkers" and "whiners" cause I am one of them). Hope you enjoyed your stay here and have a good trip to Bangkok.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb