yoga, sickness, love


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
March 21st 2009
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Perhaps this is my 'sick week.' A few nights ago I had a stomach sickness, but that was a brief 48 hour ordeal cured by plenty of rest and water. Now, I have no voice, I sound like I've smoked 7 packs a day for 54 years. But I don't feel too sick. Plus, I've been able to try out the world famous Tibetan medicine, it's pretty nice. Doesn't make me feel all woozy and loopy like Western medicine. Despite these little setbacks, my spirits are high.
Today I had my first yoga class with a legitimate Reiki master. It was in the morning on an outdoor terrace after a night of heavy rainfall. So the air was clean and the birds chirping away. I'm going to continue with my teacher 3 times a week and also learn about Reiki which is a type of healing, traditionally developed in Japan that works a lot with the body's 7 chakras. I really just want to learn as many different things as possible while I'm in this magical place, so that is my motive. I learned about my teacher through another traveler at a place called "meeting point Cafe" so I think it was a sign.
There was an extraordinary lightning, thunder, rain, wind storm last night. It was loud and completely awesome. I just pressed my nose to the window like a little kid and watched the lightning bolts and flashes and let myself be truely in awe.
This past week has been pretty quiet after the big March 10 protest. There have been a few candlelight vigils to show solidarity with people inside Tibet who have been arrested or gone missing. But there is scarce information surrounding the current situation in the country. And the two main people at the office have been away for a week for training in South India, so I haven't had much work.
All in all not too much to report. I'm so grateful I found this place and have been able to meet people and make connections from all over the world. I look forward to seeing everyone and sharing my sights, sounds, and smells in the form of pictures, prayer flags, incense and stories. Thinking of you all and sending health and happiness on these Himalayan winds.
Love. Marin


Advertisement



21st March 2009

Thank you
Thank you for keeping up your entries. Very nice to get your messages. Jonathan
27th March 2009

Wow Wow wow: The experience sounds truely awe inspiring and wonderful. I am glad for you !!! Be safe, and God Bless You - sending good wishes and love from Oregon
31st March 2009

Thanks for the blog
Marin,, it is exciting to read about your experiences. Thank you for sharing them with all of us. You have two new cousins. Warner and Serena gave birth to Lily Ophelia and Kinsey and Jeff to Paisley Mae. Everyone is doing fine. I am so happy and excited for your mom. She took a huge risk, but it sounds like things are working out well for her. Best wishes always - you will have lots to share with us when you get home.
2nd April 2009

hey jude
oh, im so excited for warner and kinsey. and what beautiful names they have chosen! how does it feel to be a grandma all over again? im very proud of my mom, i hope you get up to visit her in the new alaska place. thanks for your warm thoughts love, marin

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb