MOTO-MADNESS


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Calangute
December 3rd 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Pit of Death!!!!The Pit of Death!!!!The Pit of Death!!!!

The greatest stunt I have ever seen!
Hello Friends,

India is unreal. It's like living in a dream world. I'm just going to take a moment to recap the past 45minutes.

In the town of Old Goa, we observed mass with thousands from the local community. It is a special mass today because of Saint Francis and the fact that it is December 3rd ( I'm not sure why it was such a big event, but I'm trying to find out). It was a beautiful gathering, and we proceeded to a massive carnival / street fair , flooded with people. Ade and I were the only tourists around for miles. We found our way to a corner of the festival where there were some run-down carnival rides and a wide-variety of vendors........AND THEN I SAW THE UNIMAGINABLE!!!! A massive wooden structure (circular) rising from the earth.....and a giant picture of a man sitting on a motorcycle. Ade and I paid 10rupees (25cents) and climbed the metal stairs(30feet) to the top of the wooden structure. Locals packed in as the rider, at the bottem of the pit, prepaired his cycle for the impossible. We looked down in awe, as the bravest man I've ever seen,climbed the walls
My Hero!!!!My Hero!!!!My Hero!!!!

Myself and the Stunt-man.
with his motorcycle. He was riding in circles with no hands. He was grabbing rupees from the crowd. The structure was shaking so bad, I thought is was going to explode. It was the greatest stunt show I have ever seen. I got the whole thing on video-tape. Day 3, back-woods stunt-show......tomorrow, who knows!



Advertisement



3rd December 2006

you two rock!
hi lovelies, i am soooooo excited for you and this trip! oddly enough, i'm writing two papers on AIDS in India (5.6 million folks infected there..hurumph) at this very moment (literally, in my jammies, coffee in hand) and relating it to my experience working with HIV-infected people when i was there two years ago. reading your comments while writing these papers is bringing it all back. the entire sensory overload. whew! good for you for going and thank you for sharing your brilliant travelogues with the rest of us. i can't wait to "follow" you on the rest of your adventure. love you both, td ps. turns out the "mutant down under" book is a sham. she lied about the veracity of her experiences. good book nonetheless tho. made up or not, it's a great story...
6th December 2006

Pit of Death!
Ade and Dorf!!!!! Looks like you 2 are having an awesome experience! Love the MotoMadness shot, they try to do something like that here during Spring Break, except dollars instead of rubies and the structure is way safer I'm sure. Dorf you are missed always and Ade it has been nice to be introduced to you through the various adventures you 2 have had! We have to meet in person some day!! Thanks to both of you I can drift away for some time everyday by following in your footsteps on here......Best wishes!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb