I finally made it to the harbour!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 12th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it to Victoria Harbour at Tsim Sha Tsui and I have fallen even more in love with Hong Kong. It reminded me of my high school years and it also made me appreciate my home. On the opposite side of the harbour is Hong Kong Island where all the cooler looking buildings are. It looks gorgeous at night because the buildings are brightly lit with all kinds of colours. In case you're wonering why somewhere along the Hong Kong coast there's a place called "Hong Kong Island" it is because it's a name for one of the 263 islands and a peninsula that makes Hong Kong.

Going there on a weekday during the day is absoultely lovely because of the small amount of people. I walked through the Hong Kong Cultural Centre which is right by the harbour and once I got out I was facing the harbour. There was a giant smile on my face. There was the clock tower to my right (kind of like Big Ben) that's been there before I was born and a new art structure of a man to my left holding all kinds of gadgets.

There were a lot
With the sunWith the sunWith the sun

Not taken by me
of things that have been added after I left and it's very intriguing. But of course, there were some things that has been the same like the mezzanine on the west side where I took a seat for a few minutes and enjoyed the quietness. There's also the photo kisoks where photographers take "professional" photos and sell it to you for a "tourist" price. Artists draws potraits of you and again selling it for a "tourist" price. There's nothing wrong with selling it at a high price because everyone's got to make a living plus they do it a pretty good job of drawing.

There is a broadwalk dubbed as The Avenue of Stars and it's kind of like Hollywood where there are placks of hand prints of performing artists. It was a misty day so most of the pictures I took of buildings are not as clear. No frets! I will be finding some legit photos somewhere else for you all to see. Speaking of pictures, I went to Harbour City (a shopping centre) and shopped at a place called LCX. It's hosts all the "hip" shops and this one store had really strange things and I wanted
PeninsulaPeninsulaPeninsula

Top 10 buildings of the world
to all the pictures I can but because of the "no picture" regulation I sneaked my camera in and only got a few. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Space museumSpace museum
Space museum

This photo does not do it justice
LiftLift
Lift

If you look closely the "elevators" are called lifts
SanitizeSanitize
Sanitize

After SARs, everything is cleaned more often
Inside the Cultural CentreInside the Cultural Centre
Inside the Cultural Centre

These are ads for performances
Walking towards the harbour...Walking towards the harbour...
Walking towards the harbour...

Taken after exiting the cultural center
BirdBird
Bird

It was chilling REALLY close to people. Didn't even bother to fly away
Ferry!Ferry!
Ferry!

This transportation has been around for a while. It takes you from one end of the harbour to the next


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb