Tourist in my own home


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
December 13th 2011
Published: December 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's more than just taking a million pictures that I feel like a tourist in my own home. I find myself being strangely uncomfortable about situations that travelers have been known to be uncomfortable.

I grew up here for fifteen years and yet I notice how the air has been affecting my breathing. I've also become quite overwhelmed by the crowd when I was always able to handle it. Yesterday, I found myself looking for a starbucks to rest where you would normally never find me. I could've gone to any other cafes but I was actually looking for a Starbucks. I wanted a so called "western style" cafe. Odd. Maybe it's my jet-lag.

On a brighter note, I decided to go on an adventure to the Wong Tai Sin temple. I've never been but heard a lot about it so being the curious girl I am, I set out to see for myself. I didn't know exactly where it was but I had an idea besides Hong Kong is super when it comes to directions and signs unlike the Los Angeles airport.

Hot and sunny, I found the temple within minutes (after getting off the train) and
MTR stationMTR stationMTR station

MTR = our train/ subway. This is the outdoor platform
took plenty of pictures. I saw statues of the twelve Chinese zodiac animals, little shrines, some kind of area to pray for love, gardens and a whole lot of other statues. It was amazing. They kept the place quite clean in such a vibrant city but that's Hong Kong for you - we strive to be clean.

Oh and I also had my first shopping experience since I been back. Yay. Shopping in Hong Kong is legit. But that's for another post.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MTR StationMTR Station
MTR Station

underground platform


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb