Home is where the heart is


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 10th 2011
Published: January 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I hope you've seen the videos in my previous postings because it's the closest I can get to showing you my home in action. I love Hong Kong. Every time I come back I discover new things and appreciate my home in a different way. I discovered that young women wear wigs, fake eyelashes and coloured contact lens with a rounder iris. Most of them like to have very fancy nails with glitter and glitz but because school or work permits them, I don't see it as much. I guess they can buy the fake nails and wear it for the weekend.

I discovered that there's a very heavy Korean and Japanese influence here especially when it comes to fashion and food. The food part is fantastic. The fashion part may be a little bit too much. The wigs and fake eyelashes are Japanese influenced. I've only seen a few girls that really go all out with the look but most of them mellow it down a little. I'lll show you a picture so you can understand. Don't get me wrong though, I'm all about young women have a bit of fun and doing themselves up. However, it's like the young women in U.S. with their cake-layered make-up. They rely on their dolled-up look so much that they lose themselves in it. BUT the food is great.

I had a very tough time getting use to the agressive behaviour in Hong Kong during the first few days. People push and cut you off while driving/walking and everyone is rushing impatiently to get what they want. Sometimes it's really out of pure rudeness but some times it's just what you have to do. There are so. many. people. here and if you're pussy footing around you're never going to get what you want and go where you want to go. For example, when going for afternoon tea at a Chinese restaurant there will always be a huge crowd waiting. They will wait in front of the restaurant leaving you absolutely no path to walk and talk to the hostess. Therefore you would need to push your way through with elbows and knees and people will get out of the way.

If you're taking the MTR (train) and you need to get off at the next station but you're stuck in the middle of the crowd, you'll need to push your way through sometimes without saying excuse me. People usually say excuse me but there are times when it's overwhelming, you bulldoze everyone.

But I appreciate everything that Hong Kong has to offer even with the agressive behaviour. It makes us tough. Many of us can live with a lot of people in a city and also find comfort among the chaos. The rewards are good food, good friends, great fashion, amazing arts and cultural performances and late night hang-outs.

Oh and most of the pictures are fishes, shrimp and the like as I had a seafood dinner the other night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

RayRay
Ray

I was sitting next to the tank so it was easy for me to take the pictures
Huge shrimpHuge shrimp
Huge shrimp

Don't know the specific name


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb