Happy New Year - part 2


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
February 11th 2005
Published: February 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So what did we do here?
If you read the previous post you know we traveled on escalators... Hong Kong park and its zoo are great. The skycrapers are amazing. Their architects are doing a great job. My favourite was China bank tower - you'll get a picture when I get a chance to load one. We climbed to the Victoria Peak - a famous place but for no reason. The view on HK from Kowloon (the other side of the bay) is much more impressive. We wandered in the markets of Kowloon, that are nice (I like Bangkok weekend market better, though). We went to the small towns in the south of the island. It was amazing that they have skycrapers there as well - in fact they have them everywhere, probably they must if they need to house so many people in a small land.
We celebrated the new year: a parade on Wednesday night - it was nice even if not amazing. The fireworks display yesterday was huge, and it was impressive to see the reflections on the buildings. I loved that. However the show I have seen with Daphna in Germany was nicer...
Today we saw a
Kids in Traditional dressingKids in Traditional dressingKids in Traditional dressing

Not many adults wore anything special but kids did and it was awesome
small celebration in the south town of Aberdeen and this was the best: 4 guys disguised as dragons (2 in each dragon) made a dance show, and the jumped coordinately on 1-2 meters high poles - utterly and superbly amazing. The small surprising events are always the best. Wait till you get the pictures!
The only unpleasant experience here was that I forgot my new Swiss knife in my handbag when I checked in to the flight now and it got confiscated :-( I should probably feel lucky they didn't consider me a terrorist (in the US they probably would...) but I am still sad to lose it.

Now we start our long journey to Christchurch (9 hours flight, 5 hours wait, 4 hours flight). See you then!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bank of China buildingBank of China building
Bank of China building

My favorite in HK
The Dancing DragonThe Dancing Dragon
The Dancing Dragon

Can't believe there were 2 guys inside this!


11th February 2005

Happy TARNEGOL Year
Hi Dear! Your posts made my gloomy Friday morning brighter (crazy deadline, must work throughout weekend). Hong Kong sound fantastic and I can't wait to see some pictures. I miss you already. Ifat sends her love too. TAMMY P.S. - Are you using your gmail while traveling? - Tammy
12th February 2005

And this was the expensive one!
You should have bought the cheap swiss knife if you weren't going to use it anyway :-P Your blog still doesn't inform me on new posts. I am adding myself for the third time (this one different address, maybe more luck). Fortunatelly there's always someone to tell me about the new posts!! - Daph

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb