Live it Love it


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
April 7th 2009
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Live it Love it - that is the tagline from the HK tourist board, not just something I made up, I do however agree with it! hehe!

One last blog before I head off to Taiwan for the Easter holidays. I broke up from school today and am looking forward to 2 weeks of adult conversation and no teaching! (Don't worry - I do actually like my job, I'm just rather excited about a holiday!)

The pictures here are from a recent 'teacher development day' at Ocean Park - not sure how much I was developed as a teacher, but it was a good day! We saw the pandas, and the backstage area where there is a special freezer to keep bamboo in tip top condition between being imported from Guangzhou and being given to the Pandas. We also had a talk about the sea lions and seals at the park.

One event that hit Hong Kong (hard) recently was the Hong Kong 7s Rugby tournament. The city is flooded with tourists for the weekend, and rugby takes over. I headed straight to the Queen Elizabeth stadium after work on Friday and enjoyed the rugby with some pimms in the south stand. Once it finished, Happy Valley (the netball club I play for) had a big marquee bar, so we headed there for a party. Up early on the Saturday and into the south stand - basically the party stand, and the fancy dress stand. I went as part of the circus, and had a good day there - and I have to be honest, it was a big social, with some rugby happening! However, on the Sunday after another night of the valley marquee and dancing, the rugby was really good and I paid more attention - the finals were exciting, and Fiji came away as the winners of the tournament - another excuse for a celebration! Needless to say it was a great, but exhausting weekend that left me with no voice! There's a great atmosphere in town though and it was a good game to watch, and a good social occasion!

In other goings on....I'm loving the dragon boat team I have joined. I spend my Saturdays at Stanley powering away in the boat for an hour in the sunshine, before heading down to the plaza for a drink and a late lunch - perfect! It's so good to get out onto the open water and do something different!

The weather is highly erratic at the moment - yesterday was wet and drizzly....on Sunday I spent the day on a junk boat and got sunburnt! Very unpredictable.

As I mentioned, I'm off to Taiwan tomorrow night to do some exploring for 9 days, so will send another update soon! Happy Easter!

J xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Tonga warming up!Tonga warming up!
Tonga warming up!

Front row seats of course!


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb