Hong Kong life - Adventures!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
February 15th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong is a place to take advantage of being so close to the city and the countryside. Recently I have been keen on mini-adventures!

After a previous weekend of partying- celebrating my birthday, and having a street party with the netball club, I decided to do a bit more with the next weekend and have a more outdoors, adventurous weekend!

On Saturday morning I woke up in hustling bustling Causeway bay, and a few hours later I was in the new territories after a 45 minute journey and walking in a nature reserve on a 7.5km walk on which I saw about 3 other people in total! Such contrast, it's great. We nicknamed it the rainforest because it was a humid, muggy day and after climbing for a while we were in amongst the low clouds. I joked about hearing the birds and wanting to see a monkey - well it was a joke no more when we came across a large monkey happily delving through a rubbish bin approximately 5 metres away from us!

Continuing an adventurous weekend, I went to one of the outlying islands called Cheung Chau for some dim sum, and then a cycle around before dinner and the ferry back to HK.

Among other adventures, I recently did a nice circle walk around the peak, with some great views, another enjoyable walk. There is a nice walk I've done recently from one side of lamma island to the other which is also very pleasant.

One of my favourite adventures to date has to be my lion rock climb. There is a big rock between kowloon and the new territories that I have driven through many times on the bus. We began our hike at Kam Lam country park and had a pleasant climb until we saw a monkey on the path and became a little afraid! The passers by warned us to be careful and handed us a stick! It didn't bode well...luckily for us, a family came along and said "go together" so we attached ourselves to a family hike and made it past the monkeys - I think we were the most afraid, the kids and others seemed very relaxed, it was quite funny!
We made it to a nice view point, and then followed the signs to Lion rock peak, 500m...that would be vertically. It took us a while to get up, circling round a bit and clambering a bit. Once at the top, the view was fantastic, if a little scary - I wouldn't fancy taking a few steps in the wrong direction! I could see all the way to Wan Chai across the harbour. Definitely worth the climb.

Looking forward to more adventures!

J x


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Across to Lamma IslandAcross to Lamma Island
Across to Lamma Island

Taken from the Peak


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb