2008 so far...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 23rd 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Miss Jen! Miss Jen! Miss Jen!

In my classroom
The beginning of 2008 saw the arrival of my Dad in HK, so there was a lot of tourist-ing to be done!

Since my trip to Vietnam and Cambodia I have also been to Shenzhen twice to have some trousers tailor made - it was cool to ‘go to China’ after school, but Shenzhen itself was ok- just shops and lots of people harassing me to buy something!

Dad and I had a very good Dim Sum experience in the busy city hall where I could impress with my Cantonese!

A trip to Cheung Chau island was good and we had lovely sunshine for it. I took my first ride on a ‘Kaido’ and did a nice walk around the island seeing some temples and lovely landscapes. We also had a delicious, very local lunch.

Another day trip was to Tai O fishing village which was really interesting - it has a very ‘local’ feel about it. People still live in houses on stilts. Fish were drying out everywhere, even on a rack on the roof of a three storey building! Tai O offered us another very ‘local’ and delicious seafood lunch too.

A bit of luxury for me was afternoon tea at the Peninsula, dinner up on the Peak with a lovely view, and a hotel buffet breakfast! 

A sunny walk over Lamma island was a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon. We had a great couple of weeks seeing lots in HK!

I’ve mentioned that it was sunny….well that was for just a few days….weather in HK is cold!! (I know I shouldn’t complain - it’s not as cold as England, but…) HK apartments don’t have heaters! My school is practically ‘open air’ so I spend my days hugging a thermos and wearing as many layers as possible! The children are funny…I don’t think they could be more ‘bundled up’ if they tried!

In other news, I have been volunteering at a community centre in HK on the social welfare programme - running English sessions once a week for some 15-21 year old ex-criminals on parole (minor crimes). It sometimes seems a chore to go there after work when I'm tired, but it's actually a lot of fun, and its funny to see these hardy types getting really into Christmas craft (card making) and pictionary! They are good kids
Bamboo in excessBamboo in excessBamboo in excess

spot the man clambering around on tied together bamboo
actually, I enjoy it. Some speak quite good English and others speak none at all!

J x


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Cheung ChauCheung Chau
Cheung Chau

Fish drying....on the roof of a three storey building!
Cheung Chau Cheung Chau
Cheung Chau

A view from the island
Drying fish!Drying fish!
Drying fish!

In Tai O Fishing Village
A lot of drying fishA lot of drying fish
A lot of drying fish

In Tai O Fishing Village
Definitely deadDefinitely dead
Definitely dead

In Tai O Fishing Village
Malt sugar in Tai OMalt sugar in Tai O
Malt sugar in Tai O

I handed this lady some money in return for something gooey on an stick in between crackers....turns out it was malt sugar - not bad, but not that interesting!
Dinner on the PeakDinner on the Peak
Dinner on the Peak

A lovely meal on Victoria Peak
Being silly up on the peakBeing silly up on the peak
Being silly up on the peak

You have to make each trip up there interesting!
Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

We did a lovely 1 hour walk across the island
Young coconut - mango drinkYoung coconut - mango drink
Young coconut - mango drink

A good Vietnamese restaurant


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb