Welcome back to Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Straight into Hong Kong and straight back into work! Lucky for me, it was a job I was familiar with and I could handle it along with the jetlag! I spent my first five days trying to stay awake mid afternoon, and learning the 72 childrens' names of my new classes.

Now I have accomplished that, I have moved onto to sorting out my new flat, and making it homely and furnished....it's getting there slowly! It's been a learning curve in decor and all things household-y! I've moved to the New Territories now, which is a radical change from Causeway Bay, and a bit of a commute, but I am getting used to it!

I quickly remembered why I like this job....below are a few classic quotes already...always make me giggle!

"Miss Jennifer, is it that you are taking a bath today because your smelling is so good."

"Miss Jennifer I love you"

"Miss Jennifer, why your hair is so beautiful?"

I am teaching a BOY who is called Carrol.

A four year old: "Miss Jennifer, I in Singapore see the tiger"
Me: "Oh wow, was it in the zoo?"
A four year old: "NOOOO....in Singapore!"

"Miss Jennifer, why you look so beautiful today?" - Kids always manage to make you feel better!!

There is one boy who just repeats everything I say, and it just makes me laugh because he copies all the expressions as well, and he doesn't really understand what he is saying, he just says yes, and repeats back exactly what I've said in the same manner! It makes him sound a bit crazy, and it's very strange hearing how they think I sound!

So that pretty much sums up my first few weeks of work, filled with funny kids and getting back into the swing of things whilst catching up with friends and moving flats, busy busy busy! I also had a good birthday celebration!

Luckily however, I planned my return perfectly as the Chinese New Year holiday is upon us and another holiday is calling! I am about to cross the equator for the first time ever and enjoy some Sydney sunshine! Exciting times!

J xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb