TGIF


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Stanley
September 3rd 2010
Published: September 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow, this has been a LONG week. Last week just flew, so this week felt like it lasted forever.

We had our first chapel this week on Wednesday (which made it feel like friday). It was really great to see all the kids get together and to hear them all singing the songs that we have taught them. It was very encouraging. I am looking forward to taking a bigger role in that part of our school.

We also had our first back to school night on Wednesday. I got to meet a lot of parents. They were all very nice. I felt like I was babbling on and on, but I guess that is better than me just standing and staring at all of them like aliens. I hope they liked me!

Something I learned about Hong Kong after I got here is that sometimes there is a lot of air pollution. There is something called the API- the air pollution index- which tells us HOW polluted the air is. Well, this week has been very bad. Every day it has been over 100, which means the students with asthma or other respiratory problems have to stay inside at recess. Yesterday and the day before it was around 150, which means that ALL students have to stay inside for recess. I had not really noticed the effects of the air until last night. I walked up this long hill, and afterwards my throat was burning and I was light headed. It took basically all of last night to feel better. I am glad that my asthma is almost non-existent. It seems like a lot of people here have severe asthma or other respiratory problems. I don't know how they do it! It's not really the best place for that. Luckily it rained last night/this morning. That helps to clear out the air a little bit.

Last night we also had our first rehearsal with the Community choir. We have about 25 members! It was wonderful to be singing in a group again, but it also really made me miss Chorale. We are singing some nice pieces. One of the pieces "Hark I hear the harps eternal" is a piece that I sang in high school, and also one that the Chorale did last year (the first year I wasn't in it). I found myself reflecting a lot last night during the rehearsal- just thinking about the years I spent in choir. This experience here so far has affirmed my desire for grad school and something more. I do enjoy teaching these little ones, but I am not quite ready to sign up for a life of public (or private) school teaching.

This weekend I plan to go to the beach, eat, read, relax, beach, sleep, eat, relax,....etc. 😊

Love you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.06s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb