Gori and Tbilisi


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia
June 23rd 2007
Published: June 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 5



Today I decided to go to Gori to check out the Stalin museum and the fortress. Gori is the town that Stalin was born and raised in and is located 1 and a bit hours east of Tbilisi. I had to take a Marshrukte (minibus) from Tbilisi's Didube bus "station" (read: giant car park). Which was an adventure in itself trying to find the right one as Georgian isn't written in Cyrilic i found it quite difficult.
After getting to Gori and going round the Stalin museum (rip off!! $10!!!) which paints Stalin as not quite as bad as everyone says and has the largest still standing statue of Uncle Joe, I went up to gori fortress to have lunch. Despite being windy it has stunning views!
Took a marshrukte back to Tbilisi and just chilled for the evening.

Day 6



My hotel kicked me out this morning at 8.30am!!!! grrrrrrrr! my train to Baku didn't depart till 17:15, so i had a lot of time to kill today. Which i did by just sitting in a park in the sun and reading my book.
Once on the train i ws sharing a cabin with an American guy called James and his bike. He's cycling from Istanbul to Kashgar in China but its getting a bit too hot so he cheated a bit.
We reached the Georgian border post at 6pm and the border guards asked me and james to come into their office. I was a bit worried but it turned out all they wanted was a to chat to some forigners because they don't get many round these parts.
In the end it took nearly 5 hours to get through both borders.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th June 2007

Hey, I liked the look of Gori, but who on earth is Uncle Joe?! He looks scary. It was music day today, it was wet. And cold. And wet. Love em x

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb