the food_ part one


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan
September 7th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

rice noodle soup with some pig's bloodrice noodle soup with some pig's bloodrice noodle soup with some pig's blood

mi_xian is rice noodles, typical kind of fat noodles for Yunnan; pis's blood is not as bad as it sounds: most of you eat black pudding (krvavica)...what you think is in there
...this post is published mostly cause I promised to my super great coworkers back home, to make my point of how different the real chinese food really is... cause many times, when we go out for lunch to a local chinese guy....I might complain...
...so there...I sacrified for you guys, and made a show of myself many times in restaurants here, by taking photos of just ordinary food! Yea...imagine you're in a local home food restaurant and a person starts to take photos of some mashed potatoes!En fajn zabeljen prazen krompir, na primer! Yes! That was me sometimes here in China!

From now on...I'll just enjoy the food, no cameras anymore....untill I meet with my Chef friend! Then hopefully...another post on some cooking follows. Unless something drastic and supertasty happens on the way before that!

There's a lot of special dishes that I left out, the most important being the typical Kunming 'over the bridge' noodles. I'm sorry about that! Just google it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

a dinner with my school in Kunminga dinner with my school in Kunming
a dinner with my school in Kunming

a bit of everything, all looking good
meatballs!meatballs!
meatballs!

...on gentle baby bok choy bed ;)
Jiao_ziJiao_zi
Jiao_zi

you all know I addore these!
a special rice dish a special rice dish
a special rice dish

very, very tasty and a very special taste in mouth!
some tofusome tofu
some tofu

...though best is yet to come...when visiting Hunan
baby bok choybaby bok choy
baby bok choy

the super tasty and good looking chinese veggie!
chopped meat with lots of chillies...chopped meat with lots of chillies...
chopped meat with lots of chillies...

what is around is a kind of potatoe chips, which to my surprise wasn't greasy at all!
chinese broccolichinese broccoli
chinese broccoli

all these greenies that they have! just delicious!
a yak steak (Dali)a yak steak (Dali)
a yak steak (Dali)

with some mushrooms and baked potato (a dish for tourists!)
asparragus an lilies! (Dali)asparragus an lilies! (Dali)
asparragus an lilies! (Dali)

yes! and I had a brilliant whole Erhai lake carp fish with it, proudly announcing that I managed it just with chopsticks!
jasmin green tea and flower showjasmin green tea and flower show
jasmin green tea and flower show

you can see the white jasmine flowers...as it opens


15th September 2009

Yum!
Looks so good! I miss REAL Chinese food. Looks like you're having a great time..Enjoy!
15th September 2009

xen chi choice
look nice, smell very gut, taste ?
16th September 2009

Yum!
Hey Gillian! Back to where the grass is most green, right? You must be so happy! Sorry that we missed eachother, cause my final Chinese location before Hong Kong will of course be Shenzhen (first days of October)...to bad for that! But hey, many times there's some details that remind me of our Tibetan trip! SOYIMBU! hihihi
19th September 2009

recepie
Dear Ksenija Pease do us a favour and take notes how to do this mmmmm looking sooo good food. I than recomend we cook it at my place he he Thank you!! Irena
22nd September 2009

food recepies
Fili! eventually my friend WILL visit Slovenia! You can host him then and he can cook for you every day! You just have to provide entertainment (some kayaking and some other good time you always show people in the Soca valley) and good slovenian vine! ;)

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb