Lijiang - Prepare your wallets folks!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Lijiang
June 30th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful StreetsBeautiful StreetsBeautiful Streets

in the Old Town
I didn't title this entry "Prepare your wallets" because Lijiang is expensive. It is still cheaper than Shanghai, but almost everywhere is. I gave it that title because you should be prepared for excellent shopping when you come here! It ranks up there with Hoi An in Vietnam in my book, but they sell different stuff, much of it made by local artisans. There is a lot of jewelry, woodcarving, and textiles made by the local Naxi people. People here actually don't speak a lot of English, but they are friendly and not pushy at all. Many of them don't say anything to me, probably because they don't speak English. So all morning I felt free to wander the streets of the Old City and look to my heart's content without being bothered. As a result, I spent money I hadn't planned to spend, but I got some great deals. I can't say what they are as some are gifts.

Anywho, I've decided I like this town very much, even though the German guy I met in Jinghong described it as "Disneyland" and "so expensive." He clearly hasn't tried shopping or eating or drinking or buying coffee in Shanghai, but
Waterwheels in LijiangWaterwheels in LijiangWaterwheels in Lijiang

on the outskirts of the Old Town
he said he's been there. Coffee here is expensive for what you get, but I've already found locally brewed beer, Dali, which is excellent and only 12 RMB for a liter! Holy Cow! Cannot beat that.

I have to put in a shameless plug here for N's Kitchen. I stopped here for lunch because their card said they have good pizza. I've looked all over China for good pizza and was convinced there was none to be found. I was wrong. I found it today. It was a 12 inch (why is pizza always described in inches in countries that otherwise only use the metric system?), thin crust, pepperoni, mushroom, black olive, onion, little bit of cheese and homemade tomato sauce, piece of pure heaven. That's where I also had a liter of good beer for just over 1 USD. I was so happy. I am still happy. I might go there again tomorrow and have exactly the same thing. The staff spoke excellent English, and understood me perfectly! They also rent mountain bikes, have a book exchange, and help organize bus tickets, among other services. The address is 2nd floor of No. 17, Jishan Alley, Xinyi Street, Old
Wanggu PavilionWanggu PavilionWanggu Pavilion

In Lion's Head park
Town Lijiang, but that won't help you find it. Just be on the lookout for it when you're walking around. It's actually on the corner of a small square that has park benches in the center.

I took a stroll up to Lion Mountain, or something like that. There were only old Chinese people up there in the park, and then I stumbled upon the reason I was asked to pay 15 RMB to enter. Wanggu Pavilion was on top of the mountain. LP gives horrible directions to this place. Anyway, it is really beautiful and worth 15 RMB to visit, and there is almost no one up there. There weren't many people up there, so if you're looking for a peaceful place to take a stroll, this is a good option. There are lots of benches to take a rest, although the walk isn't a long one.

After lunch I decided I'd spent enough money and taken enough photos of buildings, doorways, and dogs sleeping in doorways, so I came back to the hostel to catch up on my blog. There are apparently a lot of Americans staying here, college students who say 'like' every other word
Yin and YangYin and YangYin and Yang

set in stone at Wanggu Pavilion
and talk like valley girls (didn't that go out of style in the 80's?) and have a lot of misconceptions about what a good deal is. One gal, the loud one from last night, got, oh my God, such a good deal on a name stamp, oh my God, only 70 RMB. "Oh my God, that's awesome!" responds the college boy sitting next to me on the computer. I hate to burst that gals bubble, but those same stamps are about 25RMB at a super, uber (their words...) touristy area in Shanghai, one of the most expensive cities in the world!

I'm American, so I have no qualms about making fun of these college students, especially since I've lived here for two years now and have seen the true face, or at least part, of China.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Let sleeping dogs lieLet sleeping dogs lie
Let sleeping dogs lie

Dogs were everywhere, but most had owners and just hung out in the shops all day.
Wanggu PavilionWanggu Pavilion
Wanggu Pavilion

Great views of Lijiang from the top
View of Lijiang View of Lijiang
View of Lijiang

from Wanggu Pavilion
CheChe
Che

is everywhere. I don't even think people know what he did to get his face on so many bags and t-shirts.
N's KitchenN's Kitchen
N's Kitchen

in Lijiang. There's one in Shangri La as well. So good!
How's thisHow's this
How's this

for cute? This was a leather shop.
Garden InnGarden Inn
Garden Inn

Room 203 was lovely, but there was a neighbor who let his dog bark late at night and early in the morning. That's my only problem with this hotel.
Great doorsGreat doors
Great doors

in the Old Town
Old TownOld Town
Old Town

I think this was one of many, many hotels in the Old Town.
Great ArchitectureGreat Architecture
Great Architecture

Is it well preserved or newly constructed to look old? I don't know.
Caramel LatteCaramel Latte
Caramel Latte

Looks great, tastes good. I stopped at a place called Afternoon Sun for coffee. The food is not worth what you'd pay, but this latte was good.
Old Windows in Old TownOld Windows in Old Town
Old Windows in Old Town

I love these windows! There was major construction going on inside this huge building, but the outside has been preserved. Whatever this is going to be will be beautiful!
Prayer something-or-anotherPrayer something-or-another
Prayer something-or-another

I think the idea is you buy one of these and write the name of the person you're praying for on it, then hang it up here. There were thousands of these!


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb