Namtso Lake & Nanbaijing Hot Springs


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Namtso
May 12th 2015
Published: May 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Namtso Lake & Hot Springs
Next morning it was total confusion. As Shigatse was closed the travel company (BTT) had changed changed their original plan and decided to take us to Namatso lake first. We were sleeping in dormitory rooms and this meant we had to vacate the rooms at the hotel, pack everything and leave the luggage in the storage room. In the hurry I forgot the sandals. A company representative came personally to apologize. But did not tell us why Shigatse was closed. Only later I got a text from Ryan inquiring if I was OK as there was another big earthquake in Nepal this time close to Everest and the Chinese boarder.
We set off by 0900hrs. We were following close to the railway line. As the minibus was not in great condition and may be due to road surface it was not a pleasant journey. In addition there were speed bumps everywhere, sharp back breaking double ones and check points again with multiple speed bumps. We had lunch in a small town and turned off from the main road to enter Namtoso National park. On the way we had to negotiate a mountain range and the gap was at 5100 meters. From here we could see the beautiful lake fringed by snowy mountains. What we did not realize was what we were seeing was only a small bay of the vast lake.
By 1600hrs we got to the hospitality village with a lot of tents put all our items in the allocated dormitory rooms and in small groups went out to explore. Inviting was small hill in the peninsula which we were told would afford panoramic views all around. The group had decided to go, so I went with them. Little did I realize that after the visible first climb there were three more to get to the top. I dropped back from the leading group, and the second group caught up with me. Slowly we negotiated the remaining heights. The views from the top was stunning. The lake was nearly dead calm, in spite of the wind, turquoise blue fringed by mountains covered with snow, the snow almost falling into the lake. The cameras were busy. Only problem was that it was not a sunny day.
Getting down was much easier, we got back before nightfall. All assembled and some wanted to explore the area further. I had a light meal and tried to organize for the night. The toilets were 100meters away, no lights and with nightfall, the cold was getting bitter in the biting wind. A tub with a tap was where I could brush the teeth. I cheated a bit in the sleeping. I took advantage of 20 RMB offer for an electric under blanket and by the time I got into bed it was warm and cozy. The explorers returned about 2230hrs chilled to their bones. All now opted for electric blankets. By 0300hours I managed to go outside to have a sneak at the sky which was marvelous with all the stars in their full glory with the Milky Way stretching end to end. This was the only time I regretted I did not take the other camera with shutter speeds as the small one I was carrying had no possibility for long exposures . Using the urinal without light was another experience with all the extra layers of clothing.
There was a lot of people about, mostly Tibetans. Asked why the high number our guide told us that it was an auspicious year in Tibetan calendar with a 13 fold increase in favours. So, if one did a kora around the lake it is equal doing it 13 times. After breakfast we started on our return journey. On the way we stopped at Yangbajing "hot springs". I think this was because drilling for oil. When we reached it we could see steam blowing out of large tower. I only wanted to get back to the hotel and have a shower, but went along with the rest. The natural hot springs had to be tempered to a tolerable temperature to use as a bathing medium. The water contained a high level of salts and at the temperature is considered therapeutic. As I had no swimming trucks packed (this was not on the itinerary) I had go in my underwear. The waters were comforting and washed away all the chill of Namtso lake. I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The scenery from the pool was magical. It was a shame they had put up pictures all around to spoil it. May be they are thinking bad weather days as well. We reached the hotel by 1700hrs. As the two Hong Kong girls were leaving the next day we went out for a shared meal. I declined to go out again later. Mark only got back around 2330hrs



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb