Some pictures of my trip!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 18th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One Perfect ChildOne Perfect ChildOne Perfect Child

Walking from Dorothy's apartment to school.
I have been trying to aclimate to the culture and life around me. But I thought it was time for you all to get a taste of what is going on and what my life is like now!



These pictures were taken this morning on a walk from Dorothy's apartment. The next time I spend the night at her apartment, I will be sure to take some pictures of its very beautiful surroundings.



The things that interested me about the culture here have been the habit of spitting/snot rocketing as a casual thing to do when one feels the need. But this culture also has some things that I envy and have really grown to love. Such as how free everyone feels to be themselves. It might just be me, not knowing the language enough to know when people are judging me, but in general people here are very real. Just from my four day perspective.



You can all expect many more photos next week because this Saturday I will be going to the panda reserve! And I have a whole week off next week for the spring festival- so I am
DecorationsDecorationsDecorations

There is a lot of red around the city as Chengdu prepares for the Spring Festival.
going with all of the people from my program to explore the city.



Love and best wishes for home,

Taryn



Ps. I am not sure how you view all of the pictures, but I posted 15.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Sam and DorothySam and Dorothy
Sam and Dorothy

Two of the coolest people I have met here thus far. They are both in their Junior year at Clemson.
Taxie BikerTaxie Biker
Taxie Biker

I am always surprised that somehow these don't get hit, because they are quite agressive in traffic.
Typical dayTypical day
Typical day

Traffic law in Chengdu= survive
Random StrayRandom Stray
Random Stray

There are a lot of stray animals around. A lot of really cute dogs actually... however I saw this random cat crawling up a tree like a squirrel, so i decided it was photo worthy.
My view My view
My view

My dorm room is pretty big. But I need to clean it up/make it look like a home before I show you what it looks like...
View from my windowView from my window
View from my window

This is what I wake up to every morning, or fall asleep looking at every night.
Looking down from my windowLooking down from my window
Looking down from my window

The noise of traffic lulls me to sleep


18th January 2012

Great Photos
All 15 photos are there - they're laid out kind weird, but they look great! Has it been that gray/foggy the whole time? Regardless, it looks awesome and I'm totally jealous of that view!
18th January 2012

To Jackson
Yes, It has been rather grey so far... It is actually the smog (something that I always took for granted was clean air back in GR).... But there will be some sunny warm days coming up!
19th January 2012

Miss You
I've read your blog and seen your pictures. Don't worry, Mom subscribed me to your blog. I liked it. Take more pictures. And is there really lots of stray cats and dogs around?
19th January 2012
Looking down from my window

What great pics! What floor is your dorm room on? What is the weather like? Perhaps I should tag along with your mom..... (LOL) Still don't have a computer at home but soon, I hope. Julianna is going to flip when she sees the kitty picture! Love you!!!!! Aunt Aimee

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb