Christmas in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
December 25th 2006
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh Christmas tree....Oh Christmas tree....Oh Christmas tree....

One of our two trees.
My Christmas in China was pretty good. My flat was all nicely decorated and I was suitably in the Christmasy mood when the Christmas weekend came along. Normally I am a bit of a ba humbug because the Christmas preparations in the U.K start stupidly early. Luckily I didn't have to deal with all that here.

Christmas eve and my flat mate Claire and I had a party in our flat. We provided Mulled wine and snacks for the party goers and the mulled wine went down a treat. We even bought buijio but not even a drop was touched. Two Chinese friends turned up to the party with a Christmas tree, very thoughtful but I have never been given one of those at a Christmas party before. It is certainly a gift that won't be forgotten in a hurry. It was quite funny having two Christmas tree's in the flat. It was good having everyone round and although we didn't break into Carol singing it still felt very festive.

The night managed to go on till about 2am and by that point I had drank a nice amount of mulled wine. I even got to open my Christmas present from Gordon as it was officially Christmas here. I was well chuffed as it was Season two of Lost. For some reason however it didn't work on our DVD player, very annoying! After all the party goers had left it was just me, Claire, Ally and Fran. Ally and Fran were staying over as they live quite far out of town so it was easier just to crash with us. They had both brought there Christmas presents from home and put them under our tree so we were all sorted for present opening in the morning.

Christmas morning and after a suitable sleep in we all eventually got out of bed. I made everyone a breakfast/brunch fry up consisting of bacon, eggs, tomatoes, and toast so it felt like a proper Christmas morning. We then proceeded to open our Christmas presents from home and from each other. I got some nice stuff from people in Chengdu but was gutted that a couple of parcels from home hadn't arrived (They still haven't!). We then ended up watching some Red Dwarf as Ally had got it as a Christmas present while eating heaps of Chocolate. I love Red Dwarf, I
yummy eggnogyummy eggnogyummy eggnog

sounds disgusting but tastes pretty fine x
will have to invest in the box set as soon as possible.

For Christmas dinner we headed round to Dave's Oasis. We had arranged to meet up with some friends (Iona, Charlotte, Daryl, Stephen) and at 50rmb each it seemed like a fine deal for Christmas dinner. The two Dave's had put loads of effort into cooking the Christmas banquet and it certainly was a feast. There was a huge Turkey, roast chicken, roast beef, stuffing, cranberry sauce, veggies, cheese sauce, potatoes and there was loads of it to. There was even some eggnog. Not something I had tried before but it was pretty damn fine. Possibly due to the amount of alcohol in it!? I think I ate until I was unable to move, which is how it should be on Christmas day. After food we passed out the Secret Santa's we had got. I had stupidly forgot mine so Ally had to wait until the next time I saw her to get it. My Secret Santa gift which was from Ally and or Fran was a lovely tea kettle and a huge bag of Jasmine tea. I was pretty chuffed at such a nice secret Santa gift.

We stayed drinking and chatting until about 10pm I think before some of us headed out. I decided to head home so I could call the family and Gordon and wish them all a Happy Christmas. I managed to get through to them all but it was a bit odd wishing them a Happy Christmas at the beginning of the day when mine was just ending.

All and all it was a pretty damn good Christmas in China mainly due to the people I was with and the great food. Our Christmas lights and decorations however did stay up for ages!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

'Happy Christmas!''Happy Christmas!'
'Happy Christmas!'

Everyone looking very happy and full after Christmas dinner x


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb