Karaoke Competition then Hot Pot


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
December 19th 2006
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post


So our Senior 1's had an English Karaoke competition on Monday. It was on when we usually have Chinese class so we decided to ditch Chinese and head to the competition.

We thought we might end up being judge's even though we had not been officially asked. This turned out to be correct. Not that I minded doing it but I wish that people in China could communicate better. It was a bit similar to what happened with the Junior's play competition. We only found out about our Junior's English play competition because the student's told us. I think the teachers at the school don't want to bother us or ask too much of us. I was like, if it's English, it is our job to help. Definitely a cultural thing. You have to be pretty laid back here.

Anyway we turned up and were judges. There were about 20 songs to listen to and judge. Marks were out of 10. I am sure I was told not to mark below an 8 but I was a tad baffled by this. I think the lowest I gave was a 4 and that was being kind. Some of them were pretty bad but at least 5 acts I was pretty impressed by. The guy I thought should win was from my class but he came joint 2nd with another student. I have to admit I felt pretty bad for them. All the winner's got was a certificate. I thought they would of at least got some sweets or something. Supposedly all the kids were moaning about this in Chinese.... I know I would of if I was one of them.

After the Competition we headed out for Hot Pot with the Senior 1 and Senior 2 teachers. Again we didn't know this was happening. I wasn't to keen on going, as I hadn't fully prepared for the next days lessons. However we decided to go out a desire to get to know some of the teacher's better.

It turned out that the food was pretty good as was the beer. Since it was a staff do, lot's of toasts took place. This is a tradition in China at such events and can cause a lot of beer to be consumed. I ended up 'gambe'ing' alot of beer, out of politeness you understand, and excepting and giving several toasts. This was my first experience of this custom and I have to say I rather enjoyed it. Once you have got the rule's clear in your mind it is all about just going for it. I think you go to the most Senior person first (either in age or post) and then work your way down and round the table.

Although I enjoyed it, it was pretty difficult to take no for an answer. Otherwise you just feel rude. I did have to cycle home afterwards which was a bit of a battle but I managed it. Hot Pot and lot's of beer don't mix to well together while cycling though. I was concerned it had all gone to my head but I managed to get up in time for classes in the morning.

The lessoned I learned was that when you're somewhere new you should just go with the flow. I ended up having a great meal and a good laugh. Hopefully there will be lots of similar nights to come x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb