Hogmanay!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 1st 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post


So New Year was random but pretty damn good.

I didn't know what to expect since New Year's occasionally ends up being an anti climax.

After a wee shopping trip I headed round to Charlotte's and Daryl's. It was C & D, Iona, Claire, and me + Santa (their v.v.cute puppy), Stephen & William joined us later. Iona and I started to get ready when disaster nearly struck and we got locked in the spare flat. I thought Iona was either joking or being daft, but we were in fact locked in. After Daryl saved us we finished getting ready and started the drinking and the chatting. I was on the Bacardi and Coke so I was pretty pleased with that apart from when Charlotte made me down loads of it (I was forced obviously?!). I think she was on a mission to get me drunk..tut tut x

After several drinks later we headed out way later than expected to go to Dave's opening party. This however was never found as we were just a tad tipsy on Ren min nan lu and couldn't figure out where the damn place was! I think the fact we were looking on the wrong side of the road didn't help!? Mind you the sober people couldn't find it either so it wasn't just us being tipsy. To be honest I think we were uber late so the party would of been pretty quiet anyway.

After dicing with death trying to get a taxi we headed to the Shamrock (our last choice of venue), and it ended up being pretty damn good, decent music, busy and seats to crash in. I only bought two drinks as I had drunk quite a bit at C & D's flat. This made it much cheaper than it would of been otherwise. When I was ordering one drink, a 151 Bacardi and coke, the barman was like 'ooh that's pretty strong', since when do barmen comment on what their customers drink!

There was random men dressed as women which confused me but I enjoyed the dancing. Charlotte and I danced a lot and I think I ended up attempting to speak French to a French guy I have seen around Chengdu. Since my French is pretty bad I no doubt embarrassed myself. I should also be careful who I dance with in future, I think one guy I was dancing with asked me to go home with him?!....I was only asking if they were heading for food as I could of killed for a pizza. Obviously he confused my drunken need for food as a come on?!

I didn't get pizza but we did end up heading for food down near Roxy's before most of us headed back to C & D's flat to crash for the night. The next day was spent eating tonnes of food and loafing about cos we were knackered. Altogether a good night and a good New Year.

If it was good, I can't wait for Chinese New Year...two New Year's to celebrate, how good is that? x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb