Mid Flight


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
July 22nd 2010
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 21, 2010

So we have about 7 more hours left on the plane trip. It hasn’t been bad at all. In the line for check in I met a guy who goes to NC State and he was dropping off his cousin and aunt at the airport, and they happened to be on my flight. So I’ve been helping them get to the gates and things since they don’t speak much English. Then on the flight to Detroit I met another nice Chinese guy from Hangzhou, one of the cities I’m going to in China, and it turns out we sit really close together on the flight to Shanghai too. And I was really lucky because there are three columns of seats on this flight with 3 seats in each row. I’m on the side column, in the aisle seat, and there’s only one other person in my row, and they have the middle seat, so we have a seat between us to stretch and stuff. I started talking to her and she’s also from one of the cities I’m going to. Xi’an. So she’s helping me with Chinese and telling me some of the sites to see and foods to eat. I’ve only been able to nap about an hour so far even though I barely got any sleep last night. I’ve been watching some of the movies on the plane. They have a tv in the back of each seat so you can pick your own movies, tv shows, or music. So far I haven’t finished a movie which is weird for me. I guess my mind is just all over the place. I’ve watched the office, it was a new episode I hadn’t seen. I also started Percy Jackson in German but I couldn’t focus so I shut it off. Then I started watching Date Night in Russian, but I couldn’t focus on that either. Now I’m watching the Bounty Hunter in English. They’ve got a lot more other movies too so maybe I’ll see those too. I ate some of the dinner they served and it wasn’t too bad. Right now we’re over Alaska, pretty close to Russia. I’m still trying to figure out how to best adjust to the time change because I’ll get there at 6am my time, but it’ll be 6pm there. I would just stay up all night but I got so little sleep last night that I shouldn’t really do that. I’m going to try to watch the movie for a bit now.


Advertisement



23rd December 2010
Mom and Josh at the airport with me

Looks like fun! miss you guys:)

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb