A Quick Trip Downtown


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Weihai
October 24th 2010
Published: October 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In the Corner at Tailor RowIn the Corner at Tailor RowIn the Corner at Tailor Row

This is one of the tailors, I think he is the boss because he sets the price and does the haggling, but I'm not sure. He's a nice guy, wish I knew his name. I'll have to ask.
I had to run downtown to pick up some jeans and a pair of khaki Dockers I had altered at tailor's row. I also dropped off two more pair of pants to have altered too.

After I go back to my neighborhood, I stopped off to drop off a key to my neighbor downstairs and apparently she had a big blow out with her landlord. (He was supposed to be my landlord, but she got here before I did, so the apartment went to her. First come, first served.) I didn't hear the commotion. The walls are insulated really well here. I guess the landlord was mad because she had her lock changed, but with good reason. He would go in there and snoop around when she wasn't home. I would have done the same thing in her position, wouldn't you? Anyway, the argument escalated and little inconsequential issues were brought up, fingers were pointed and voices were raised. I guess it was a real fiasco. I hope it is all blown over now for her sake.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Chestnut VendorChestnut Vendor
Chestnut Vendor

This guy tried to sneak away when he saw I was going to take his picture. We had a good laugh about it.
Lolly Pops Anyone?Lolly Pops Anyone?
Lolly Pops Anyone?

Look at all these lolly pops. It looks like Candy Land!
Stuffed Animals Anyone?Stuffed Animals Anyone?
Stuffed Animals Anyone?

Across from the lolly pops was a table with a boat load of stuffed animals.
A Scaft VendorA Scaft Vendor
A Scaft Vendor

I bought a scarf from her. She was very kind and she seemed honest too. Usually, the locals try to jack up the price when they see a foreigner, but she gave me an honest price, so I didn't haggle with her. It's no fun to haggle with someone when you don't think they are trying to rip you off. That's just bad manners.
Colorful ScafsColorful Scafs
Colorful Scafs

All around the downtown area, vendors put down tarps to sell their wares. Since Winter is fast approaching, socks, warm fluffy slippers and scarfs are popular.
Inside the CafeInside the Cafe
Inside the Cafe

We were sitting at one of the tables next to the door.
Broccoli...oops! I Mean CabbageBroccoli...oops! I Mean Cabbage
Broccoli...oops! I Mean Cabbage

My friend ordered this dish. She thought it was broccoli, but it came back as cabbage and chilies!
The Lady Who Owns One of the Cafes in My NeighborhoodThe Lady Who Owns One of the Cafes in My Neighborhood
The Lady Who Owns One of the Cafes in My Neighborhood

The food is good and cheap there too. They are willing to cater to my MSG allergy, so it's a win-win situation.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb