Moving to Dalian, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dalian
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

My Apartment BuildingMy Apartment BuildingMy Apartment Building

This is the typical weather so far. The smog doesn't tend to roll in until the afternoon...


I moved to China a little over a week ago. I have a job as a researcher/lecturer at Dalian Maritime University. This semester for the most part I am just doing research.

I had a bit of a rocky start getting here, all of my bags (even my carryon) were lost by the airline. But it turned out fine because everything made it the following day.

While I have been too busy to do much sightseeing, I have had a chance to wander around the campus. It is full of green spaces and tree covered roads. The newer buildings have interesting architectual designs and landscaping. All in all it is a pleasent refuge from the city which has about 6 million people.

So far I have been eating at the dining halls and have attended a couple of banquets. The food has been delicious. I doubt I have had the same thing twice, but I probably wouldn't know if I have. The oddest thing I've eaten so far (as far as I know) is the silk worm pupa. It was lightly breaded and fried with peanuts. As you can imagine, the inside is very soft and mushy and the outside takes forever to chew. It didn't have much flavor.

The panorama on top is from my apartment window. I will update with more pictures eventually.

Corey

Advertisement



12th September 2010

Add me
Hey Corey, can you add me to the mailing list for this blog? Brian Samuels forwarded me the link.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb