Pouring rain, and frustrating meetings


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Changzhou
July 14th 2011
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

View from the Shop OfficeView from the Shop OfficeView from the Shop Office

Is it smog or rain or both?
Day 4

2.5 hours of turbulence leaving Toronto. That really messed with my normal Asia flight routine of wine and meal for movie 1, tea and dessert for half of movie 2, then sleep. I was barely finished my dinner at the 5 hour mark! Crazy! I did sleep relatively well (thank you Executive First!), so I landed feeling relatively unscathed.

Landed in Shanghai on time, line-up at customs was long, but it gave me a chance to read my 95 emails that came in while I was flying. I definitely like the new format of a queue for the immigration line. The old way of fighting for your life on your way to the front of the line is NOT something I miss!

Walked out the airport doors into a WALL of humidity. Weather Network said "33 degrees, but feels like 45". Ah yes, China in the summer time, just how I remember it! After a 3 hour drive to Changzhou, I met up with my colleagues, had a good dinner at a Chinese restaurant that actually had COLD beer, and then crashed.

It's been raining in Changzhou ever since I got here, and last night was the WORST thunder and lightning storm I think I've ever woken up to. Production at the shop is still delayed, and the meetings to resolve the issues are reminiscent of a 3-ring circus. Everyone pointing the finger at everything except the actual source of the problem.

My team is exhausted, and they are all looking forward to getting home the end of the month. The way things are going now, I wish I was going with them. MUST KEEP A POSITIVE ATTITUDE!

Tomorrow I head to Wuxi and move into my apartment.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb