Wuxi - City of "no Tin"


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Wuxi
July 17th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A WorkplaceA WorkplaceA Workplace

This is our office in Wuxi!
Day 7

It's been a whirlwind of activity the last few days, but I have finally made it to Wuxi, which will be (mostly) my home for the next few months.

Got into my apartment around 3:30 on Thursday afternoon, problem with the internet connection (i.e. NONE), so just packed up and headed to the office. GOT COMPLETELY LOST. Now, I've only been here once before, so I'm not that surprised that I didn't get it right the first time, but the worst part is that I walked COMPLETELY in a circle. By the time I realized that I had used the wrong "modern skyscraper" as my beacon, I was staring at my apartment tower again. Yeesh. Just what one needs when it is muggy and hot out is to walk 20 minutes in the wrong direction. Thankfully, my blackberry GPS got me oriented and I found the office pretty quickly after that.

Got into the office, met the team, and then worked away until around 8 (since I knew I couldn't do anything from home), bought a few beers and some juice from the corner store and then CRASHED.

Friday was a full work day, and
A Garden viewA Garden viewA Garden view

Rooftop garden on the 6th floor just outside our office. Nice place to have a break.
I quickly remembered some strange quirks of Chinese people (actually very similar to depression era Canadians). There is SO much STUFF in the office that is broken, but still kept that I can't believe it. The best part is that every broken thing has a sticky note on it that says "this printer is broken", "this wifi modem is broken", "this coffee maker is broken". COME ON people! Why are we keeping this stuff? If it's broken, throw it out! I also found MOUNDS of paper work from 3+ years ago that has no reason to be kept (print outs of emails that say "I confirm the car has been arranged" ~ seriously???). I spent about an hour cleaning up around my desk, and then noticed that the ceiling was leaking. Apparently the air conditioner discharge pipe is broken, and can't be repaired until Monday. So, we turned it off, pulled my desk out of the way of the drip and kept working.

Mid-afternoon, while I was taking a brain break and staring mind-lessly out the window, a young boy (about 5) walked up to the window with his "weiner" out, and then peed on the side of the
Hoops anyoneHoops anyoneHoops anyone

So what do you do if you lose the ball over the edge?
building! Right outside my window! That'll wake you up!

For the most part, it was a very productive day, and the team is enthusiastic to have direction and mentoring. I made them a new/official inspection report template, so we can stop getting the 100 different formats that we have been getting for the last several years.

Had a great dinner with the whole group (including 1 wife, 1 girlfriend, and 1 baby). Wow, I remember 6 years ago when it was just me here, now we have a real presence!

Did a quick shop before heading to bed (coffee maker and coffee from Starbucks, juice, yogurt, milk...). What a day.

Finally slept a full night, woke up this morning, anxious to brew a good cup of coffee and then realized that I had bought whipping cream instead of milk. Oh well, it's still dairy, and better than nothing!

The adventures continue!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mad Construction!Mad Construction!
Mad Construction!

Currently our office building is the tallest in Wuxi... but not for long from the looks of it! This is right across the street
More Mad Construction!More Mad Construction!
More Mad Construction!

They say the tower crane is China's national bird.
The team after a great feast!The team after a great feast!
The team after a great feast!

After a great meal, a group photo


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.05s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb