The amazing adventures of a blond business traveller in Asia


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
July 11th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Big BirdBig BirdBig Bird

"leaving on a jet plane..."
So the journey begins. This is definitely not my first trip to China, and certainly not the longest, but it is the first time I've been away for more than 3 weeks in over 6 years. Plus I'm married now, which makes a difference.

Husband left the airport hotel for work around 6:30. Blah. Not fun, but it is "only" 63 days before I see him again so the sooner he left, the sooner I could start waiting for our reunion.

A single friend said this morning "I can't wait to feel that pain". Hmmm. Good point, I'll stop complaining. I may be away, but I am still loved, which is nice. Back in the day when I was a single traveller it was "easier" I guess, but it sucks to know that there is no one that misses you. At least this time I have that.

Got to the airport pretty early, found sitting in the hotel boring, and since I was ready, I decided to leave. Got the pleasant surprise that my upgrade request went through, so I should be able to sleep well on the plane! Yippee! Lounge breakfast, and a few cups of coffee, the last of which I spilled on my shirt, so that will make the next 18 hours just wonderful. I do seem to have an issue with spilling red wine and coffee. Perhaps I should regress to sippy-cups. Several friends have kids, so I know where I can get them.

Boarding starts shortly, and at this point I am always glad when I get to scoot to the front of the line. These Shanghai flights are always a battle for finding overhead compartment space!

Next stop, Shanghai (in 14+ hours).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb