China, short yet refreshing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Inner Mongolia
August 14th 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Today I start my blog away from home. I'm sorry I have not been in contact since I left, but in China many websites are censored by the government, such as facebook and youtube, and I also don't have phone. I hope you all are doing well and are having a good time back in the States.

Anyways, this has been my journey thus far:

Shanghai

On August 4th, after the 18 hour trip from Los Angeles to Shanghai, I arrived at the hostel in which I stayed a year ago on the way back home. During my stay here I hung out with my roommate, a Chinese guy named Zhang Xiang Lu. We are the same age so we got along very well. He went with me to many places in this huge city. Come to think of it, Shanghai is a lot like New York. There are so many people and no one really seems to notice each other. It is also very loud and a bit dirty in places.

I was actually supposed to leave the day after I arrived to Xi'an by train, but because I knew the train ride would be long and tiring, I decided to stay one more day. Me and Xiang Lu visited the Oriental Pearl TV Tower and NanJing Road. After a long day we returned to the hostel and then again went out to a famous bakery called Bread Talk with LangLang, a girl who works at the hostel and her two friends. It was really fun and I was lucky to be with a local who was able to speak English, otherwise I probably wouldn't have been able to make my way around the city as easily as I did.

The following day Xiang Lu took me to Shanghai Train Station to see me off. It was a bit sad saying bye to him. He was really nice guy.

The train ride from Shanghai to Xi'an was 24 hours :s Because it is a busy time in China to travel, there was no option for me to get a sleeper ticket on the train. A sleeper ticket is when you have your own bed for overnight train rides. Unfortunately, I was stuck with a hard seat, the lowest quality choice there is. Because the tickets for these seats are so cheap, these compartments are usually filled with China's working class and can be very dirty, stuffy, and overcrowded. Because I was a foreigner I kind of felt like I was a celebrity though haha. Everyone stared at me in surprise when I would get up to heat up my noodles or just stand up to stretch out, as though it was amazing I knew how to do these things! However the people were really nice as always. When it was time for me to get off, two guys helped me push through the huge crowd getting onto the train. I think I would've been stranded on the train without their help.

Xi'an

I was very happy to be back in Xi'an. It's a city I'm more familiar with and I was gonna be able to see Sally and the people from Shu Yuan Hostel again. Although many of the people from one year ago had already left, many were still there.

I am surprised that very rarely do I find Americans in the hostel. Most of the people are from England and other parts of Europe. I met some people who have been traveling for two years and even
Sleeping on the trainSleeping on the trainSleeping on the train

Why am I the only one who can't sleep on the train?
got married on their trip and I couldn't help but wonder without asking if they had any work or obligations back home. It's like they have all the time in the world to just do whatever they wanted!

Since I spent awhile in Xi'an I will just briefly describe it. During my first night me, Sally, and Aileen went to some small bakeries and night markets, play at the arcade, and walk around the city. I'm not sure why, but I'd rather go to super markets and small residential street alleys then go to huge tourist attractions like most of the other travelers here. I enjoy trying to live as a local. The next day Aileen left for Beijing so me and Sally saw her off at the train station.

The next couple days I hung out with staff from the hostel. We had a dance battle in the reception room (in tradition with last year) haha! On the last day, me and Sally went out for as much food as we could possibly eat. We had cold and spicy noodles with bread, the best JiaoZi (dumplings) in the city, sweet potato, and of course ice cream. I had a lot of fun with Sally. Even though I haven't known her for long, she really does seem like my older sister.

This city is one of the biggest in China, yet I don't find it to be as stressful as other cities like Shanghai or Beijing. I don't know if it's because I have friends here but I'm always sad to leave this city.

Jining, Inner Mongolia

I had another 20 hour hard seat train ride from Xi'an to Jining.......I don't think I can stand traveling by train anymore.

Yesterday morning I arrived in Jining. Ranran, her parents and baobao picked me up from the train station. We had dou jiang and you tiao (bread and sugar milk) for breakfast. For lunch all the kids got together and took me to mutton for lunch where we played some games to help them practice their English. I think I have been very lucky to have met nice people who are willing to take such good care of me. Later on at night we went to play pool and eat rou jia mo (Chinese hamburger). It seems like every all I do is eat.

Today I woke up late, bought some groceries, and finally got around to starting this blog. I look forward to spending the rest of the week in Jining! Hope everyone enjoyed my first entry!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Poorer home in Xi'anPoorer home in Xi'an
Poorer home in Xi'an

There's a tree going through their house!
JiningJining
Jining

I love those 3-wheeled cars


15th August 2009

Annoying Parents
I sat next to Mommy and Daddy when they read your first entry and they are sooooooooo retarded! Mommy was like, "oh my poor baby!" In that weird voice. Daddy was solemn and babyish. haha ok bye
15th August 2009

Hi!
Ramesh, Hi ma. This is Jhansi auntie. How are you? You look like you're having alot of fun. Enjoy yourself but make sure to be careful. I will be following your trip through your blog. Love, Auntie
15th August 2009

YOU'RE COOL!
Ramesh! That was an awesome first entry. You blog like a professional. hahaha. I'm so glad to hear that your trip has been more than just successful thus far, and the people sound really friendly over there. I can't help but imagine how much more cultured you're going to be when I see you again. Try to keep us updated, and be safe!
17th August 2009

I love the travel blog. You did a great job with it. Keep it updated throughout your journey so we can read about your travel experience. Love Mommy
19th August 2009

Amazing Travelogue
Ramesh, I was just immersed into your adventure. I loved the details. It feels as though we are with you. I will keep you in my prayers as you spend this coming year in this wonderful adventure. Looking forward to reading your blog. I will share this blog with Nelita, Nilmini, Lasantha, and David Chithappa. Love you! and may God be with you.
19th August 2009

My Goodness!
Ramesh, You are a brave guy to travel in a new places and eat different kinds of food. You seem to have met some lovely people to hang out with. I am excited for you. I will keep you in my prayers. Hope you have a fun time. love, Chithappa
19th August 2009

Prakash going back
Last night mommy made anna's favorite lime rice/chkn fry. We are heading to the airport in a few minutes to send him off. Mommy will be missing you both. When r u flying to Korea? Ok buddy, have lots of fun and keep all us updated.
19th August 2009

food
Hey Ramesh! It was great reading your blog--sounds like you're a seasoned traveler--train rides and all! Thanks for describing the food in detail---I think you're going to be like 500 pounds when you get back. Hahaha, I can't imagine you that big...ever. Anyways, take care of yourself and be safe!
20th August 2009

Exciting!
Wow, Ramesh! You have already done and seen so much! I admire how you like to live like the locals and see that part of China. Your first entry is incredibly detailed! I can pretend I'm there by looking at your blog and save the air-fare! Look forward to your next entry!
25th August 2009

big deal
you think thats tight? Yesterday i watched an episode of lost, and some guy was murdered by smoke. im pretty sure its at least based off a true story. Puts things in perspective doesnt it? kind of makes something even as exciting as dou jiang and you tiao seem as boring as bread and milk. Oh wait... I miss you man. Ive been listening to alot of soul music. Al green, marvin gay, and james brown. I download their videos from Napster but superimpose your head on top of theirs, and animate it, so its like your singing "prisoner of love" to me. its pretty cool. You think you have blonging talent? Let me show you a little something: Yesterday me and jaron played with a potato in the front yard for like 2 hours. It was a fantastic potato, and we had an appropriately fantastic time. At first we were just tossing it forth and back, then we started tossing it back and forth. Then suddenly, it came to me: "I need to throw the potato in the air, do a summersault, and then catch the potato as i stabilize myself" Doubt surged through me like a rain of 22 calibur bullets. But i composed myself, though i was i felt like i was tottering on the pit to oblivion. But i did it! and then i went for a 24 hour train ride. Miss you man. come back to the usa please.
25th August 2009

Chinese people must be like the Indian people in their hospitality - to push you out thru the door in a congested railway compartment. Yes, makes sense to always get a berth - rather sleeper. By the way who's that Sally, Sally you frequently mention? Is that the girl you wanted to kiss on your last trip but couldn't 'cos her parents were there. Ha, ha. You are experiencing "everyday" life in China. How awesome. I liked your blog. Uncle Andrew has been asking me start up a blog, but couldn't get beyond the first click. Congratulations. What a way to keep up with family and gossip. Much love, auntie jeeva
25th August 2009

haha
Dude, it sounds like an awesome trip so far highlighted by some awesome food. Don't forget about the summer crew back home!!
28th August 2009

Rip-off!
I was told by the blog-master a day or two ago to check out the blog because it was being updated. There's not one new thing here! Same old narration, same old photos! What a rip-off, man! I'm starting to wonder if the blogmaster is really over there. He's probably sitting at his house in Redlands at this very moment.................
14th September 2009

Just like I remember it!!!
This is Private First-Class Celano. Reading all about your recently-updated information here on your blog about your arrival in Seoul, South Korea, reminds me of all the time I spent in South Korea during the Korean War. Of course, we didn't get to stay in dorms with other students from around the world like you talk about through your new blog-entries and show in your latest blog-photographs, but the general lay-out of the country sounds still to be the same. Occasionally, we would get RNR days in Seoul during which we would travel to all the glorious sights throughout the city - just like you describe in great detail in these new blog-entries you have posted and show in all these new photos. Still, the Korean lifestyle you talk about is quite different from when we were fighting in the fox-holes and trenches on the front-line during battle. There, we wouldn't get to eat all the exquisite Korean cuisine that you not only tell us about in this blog, but also show us color photographs of! All we ever got to eat in combat were those doggoned MRE's the Army supplied us with. Well, it's time for me to head off to my psychologist appointment - I've been having a lot of flashbacks to wartime lately and he wants to help me talk through it all. Please keep these blog updates coming - they are helping us all live the war, uh, the exchange program through you!! -Private First-Class Celano, U.S. Army
18th September 2009

I Envy You!
Aww Ramesh! You're living my dream. This blog is awesome. Like everyone says, you're great at this. I didn't expect to see pictures too! I don't need to tell you to have fun because I know you are. Keep the blogs coming. I have officially subscribed. Come back with lots of pictures, items, and stories to tell me! I can't wait to hear you go into detail about everything. We're going to have a show and tell session. Haha. Be safe!
4th May 2010

When Ramesh he come back?
My friend Ramesh go to Asia last summer. I not see him since. I not know where he is?! I not know what part Asia he go?! He not communicate to me for long time! Anybody see Ramesh? Anybody know he still in Asia? Anybody know if he come back United State? When? Tank you!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb