Day 11 - Leaving Xian, travelling to Dengfeng, Shaolin orphanage and Kung Fu


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Zhengzhou
August 2nd 2013
Published: August 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

It was a really early start today. Up at 4.35, left at 5am. We had 3 mini buses to take us down the mountain to Mr Pandas Hostel to pick up our backpacks. We then set off to the first bus stop. It is always difficult making sure we can all fit in the bus with our backpacks on!

We had about an hour or so on the first bus, then off and onto the second one. This was only a short journey but the walk to get their was about half an hour, and let me just point out that at that time in the morning with no breakfast, or a cup of tea, and I am carrying about 17k now, (due to dumping some stuff!), isn't easy! After another walk, we finally arrived at the bus station for the final bus which is a 6 hour journey. We were picked up by the Master when we got off the bus. He took us to the place we were staying.

Dinner was being served when we arrived. We were offered a huge piece of refreshing melon when we got there. this was closely followed By lunch. It was the biggest plate of fried noodles I have ever been given, with an full, freshly picked corn on the cob. The place was such a welcome change. We have our own shower and ........ western toilet in our room. It is like pure luxury! I am sharing with Louisa this time. I was so pleased to take a shower and wash my hair! It is a really nice place, and very friendly people.

After getting fed, watered and cleaned, we decided yo do some stretching and yoga before we went for our lesson. I must admit, i am noticing that i am not doing any yoga! We set off walking to the Shaolin Kung Fu orphanage. It was another one of Monica's famous five minute walks..... Not! It is so hot here right now. The kids were amazing. We donated food from the group. The kids and the Master did a demonstration for us. They were unbelievable! After the demo, we had a lesson with them. First we did a sequence, them another with a long sword/spear weapon. I loved it. Well, intact, the whole group really enjoyed the whole experience. The kids were so happy, not what I was expecting. They are really well cared for by the Master.

When we returned back to the hostel, dinner was ready. I still felt full from lunch! It was vegetables and rice. Again, I ate my fair share, even though I thought I was not hungry! The group got together after dinner to play a few games, then I will be getting showered again..... Because I can! Before going to bed x



Pics to follow x


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd August 2013

Some good moves there Leesal - making a good effort as usual. - Dim.x
3rd August 2013

Kung Fu
The Kung fu experiences were amazing, both in the orphanage, and in the monestry. I loved it
2nd August 2013

Exploring
Very nice photo
2nd August 2013

Music in My Ears
G8 photo's ! Cant get the song & music out of my head!! Should have asked for Orange P Y J's !!
3rd August 2013

Message from M & D
Hi Lesley, you are looking great, Beth sends us your photos and reads us your blog so we are following you, we can't thank her enough. Take care lol D & M x x x x x
4th August 2013

Go girl, you look so professional, you will have to give lessons at that fabulous new yoga studio opening in Hull. xx

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb