China!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
May 5th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Night show on the river 40 secs
2: More night show on the river 23 secs
O-my-gawd-o-my-gawd-o-my-gawd! How many times can you say that in a row? I said it for one and a half hours straight in the taxi from the Guilin airport to Yangshuo. Seems the white line in the middle of the road here is for straddling so that you can line your car up right. A two lane road accomodates up to 4 vehicles across, plus bikes, motorized rickshaws and various water buffalo. No one signals or checks rear view mirrors - but then the fine drapery in the windows of the vehicle would prevent seeing much anyway😊. Horns are for honking the second you see something anywhere in front of you up the road -just so they know that you are coming and have the right of way. If I could have moved, I would have taken my camera out and snapped some photos of what I was seeing coming at me. As it is, my fingerprints are permanently etched in the dashboard of some cab in china.

But - and listen up, this is the important part - It. Is. Beautiful. Hotter than Hades (wasn't I the one just complaining about the cold in Japan?) and very humid, but absolutely colourful, different, challenging and gorgeous. I have spent today wandering, and arranging for a guide to tour the countryside tomorrow on bike. Tonight I will go to the light show at the riverfront (very touristy); considering a cooking class; starting to plan an overnight excursion to minority villages/dragon's backbone terraced rice fields.

This place is incredible, and I am challenged and confronted and amazed at every turn. No ability to upload pics here - and the connection is quite slow, so you will just have to be patient. But I can tell you that the wait will be very much worth it - the photos of this place just have to be the best yet.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb