Bits and Bites


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 2nd 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It is so hard to believe that my time in Japan is coming to an end. I am here in Tokyo and have been since late on Friday. I have used the time here to visit some areas I didn't get to last time, sleep in and do some housekeeping in prep for China (re-confirming my flights, my first China accommodation etc). It's been, of course, perfect - even considering the two pretty strong tremors felt yesterday and today😊.

Japan is an incredible place. Full of contrasts - it is totally unacceptable to cough in public, but it is ok to sit at a table in a restaurant and apply all of your makeup (including false eyelashes). Everyone has been unfailingly polite and kind, but you know it is a high pressure society where there is a lot boiling just below the surface. On CNN news tonight there was an item about the rise in homelessness in Japan - one million families are on welfare here, it reported (previous numbers weren't noted). But it didn't put that in perspective - there are 30 million people in Tokyo and surrounding area alone, so what does this increase in the division between haves and have nots mean exactly? And why is this seen as a news item in the US?

Anyway. I haven't left yet and I am already looking forward to my next visit. By which time I swear that I will have some Japanese language skills😊.

Random thoughts:

- Japanese children are extremely cute and friendly, and always looking for an opportunity to practice their english. These conversations have been a real highlight of the trip, and I have a few kids to write to from Canada!

- You have not lived until you have seen an episode of I Love Lucy dubbed in Japanese. Apparently it is very popular here, and it somehow just works😊

- Japanese loooove their game shows. The cornier/weirder the better.

- Charlie Chaplin is also very popular here. Came across a statue of him in Gero (northern Japan) of all places.

- bullet trains do NOT slow down when they pass through a station, but there is a general announcement that one is coming so please stand behind the yellow line on the platform (and the yellow line is about 2 ft. from the edge). It makes a deafening roar that goes right through you as it whizzes past - I have never had my camera handy when this has happened, so here's hoping I can catch that on film tomorrow (my last chance).

- The game of choice here is baseball, and they play a very good game here. I didn't get to a live game, but saw some on the tv - the fans are very very into it.

- In Yokohama there is something called "Muscle Theatre". It's true, I have a picture of it. I was dying to go in, but it wasn't open. It will be on my "to do" list for my next visit😊

- Haagen Daz has two different flavours here: Green Tea and Black Sesame

- westerners can shop for clothes at more and more places here without difficulty (except for shoes). GAP for instance has western sizes but to accomodate the Asian clientele they go as low as size "00"!!(I didn't look to see if they had anything smaller😊)

- when hotels in Japan post a check-in time of 3pm, you better believe they mean 3pm and not one minute sooner!

-
NeatnessNeatnessNeatness

In the middle of nowhere, clean construction
The highlights of my time here were Hiroshima, Tokyo and Koyasan. The biggest surprise was Kyoto. I think that I had no expectations of Tokyo etc and many for Kyoto. Tokyo is an amazing amazing city - so clean and safe and busy and interesting and and and. Of course, I think that where you stay in a place will dictate how you feel about it as well, and the area we stayed in Kyoto wouldn't have been my first choice. But that's just me. Don't get me wrong - Kyoto was interesting and fun to see, but in the scheme of things there were other places I enjoyed much more.

- I have spent my time here in 10 different cities, rode more trains than I care to count, and conquered the Tokyo transit system. I AM TOTALLY AWESOME.

That is all. Next update will be from CHINA!! and I am getting pumped. So send lots of good thoughts my way on Thursday (your Wed night) for smooth travel connections.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb