Back "Roads"


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
May 6th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Biking the 'back roads' 23 secs
Today I hired a local guide, a university student named Sally, to accompany me on a bike tour of the countryside around Yangshuo. We had a blast - even included a short bamboo rafting excursion - and I am running out of adjectives to describe this place. I have taken over 100 photos in 24 hours and do not think I have captured what is really here.

I will add some photos and video clips as soon as I possibly can so you can see what I am ranting about. But even though it rained and was sooooo humid and hot, the day was absolutely perfect. Sally took me to a local family run um......restaurant. For local food. Now when you order a chicken dish here it is not quite the same as at home. After butchering the bird, they do not remove wings, drumsticks etc., instead they simply chop it all up bones and all into little pieces and throw it in the pot. Which explained the claw and head in the dish😊. We also had some homemade rice wine - the rice was still floating in it. Tastes citrusy and no alcoholic flavour at all - and then BAM it hits you. Suffice to say the ride home was interesting😊.

Everywhere you go, someone is trying to sell you something. Hullo water! Hullo tshirt! Hullo banana! Out in the countryside I bought some really bad postcards from an old old woman who followed us in the heat out along a fortified wall and back - she had everything for sale, all equally poor. I don't know where she lived, or how she survivied out there in the middle of nowhere but she was a very gentle soul and most appreciative of the purchase. 10 postcards for about $1.30 canadian and I over paid at that - because have I mentioned I'm a sap? I find it extremely difficult to 'negotiate' price so hard since the money is so insignificant and they are so poor.

But anyway. The countryside is astounding. If you come to China, visit this place. The town is a little touristy but the countryside more than makes up for it in quadruplicate.

take care




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Any ideas?Any ideas?
Any ideas?

This was at the house of a local folk hero OR the actor who portrayed the local folk hero (not sure which)


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb