the famous Longji rice terraces (september2009)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Longsheng » Pingan
October 4th 2009
Published: May 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

gettin up the mountaingettin up the mountaingettin up the mountain

a verry common way for unfit western tourists who would be better off at some spa
From a touristic MUST SEE STOP that I made in Yangshuo, I headed up north to see the famous Longji rice terraces. To avoid time killing with transfers I took a direct "onedaytrip" from Yangshuo ...just one way. So by noon I was already feasting on sticky rice, steamed in bamboo stems. What a taste! Soon (by the evening, when I of course went for another one) I learned that it's essential that the bamboo is fresh, from a clean areas like all around up here and that the dish must still be served hot (wasn't really the case with the evening dish). Anyhow...it's the gentlest taste a rice can have and hope to have another opportunity to have it some day soon!

After carrying my backpack totally to the top of the village, where the prices of accomodation rise according to the altitude and therefore the view (considering the mountain temperatures that were a good change of climate compared with subtropical Yangshuo...I went for a room without aircondition to save the money and still stay at the top),...I went for a stroll over the hilly mountain, all moulded with terraces. Finally I reached a first day that totally fulfilled
up the hillup the hillup the hill

on steep steps, many times carried by men and women odler than the tourist cargo
my expectations. Had to call my friend to share with him that I finnally managed to escape the crowds, that I can hear only the mountain speaking to me trough the rice and the dragonflies buzzing and dancing with the rice and the wind. Total freedom! Also ...staying here alone ...was very essential =)

On my way I met a group of local Zhuang women, who were being recorded as they sang their traditional mountain songs. They had shootings on various locations, ending in the evening on the lookout point at the top over Pingan village, singing to the mountains, to the valley and to the skies.

...the rest is best told by the hundred rice impressions (ups!)




Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

sticky rice from bamboosticky rice from bamboo
sticky rice from bamboo

...the best rice I've ever tasted!
washing the bamboowashing the bamboo
washing the bamboo

behind the restaurant, getting it ready for another round
for the firs time in this tripfor the firs time in this trip
for the firs time in this trip

it was just me, the mountain path...
...and a lot...and a lot
...and a lot

A LOT of rice


4th May 2010

vuau
like eden, vuau fj

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb