Night Time Multi-Pitch


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
July 21st 2005
Published: July 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Positive EnergyPositive EnergyPositive Energy

Daves racking up getting ready for our night time accent of Thumb Peak. 5 pitches
Last night was the best climbing experience I have had in Yangshuo. The misson: to climb Thumb Peak under the full moon. Fuck ya, what a cool thing to do after a light day of climbing. So Si and Ryan went in one party and Dave and I in another. Dave and I pland that we would follow Si and Ryan up two pitches then split off to the left and do some harder routes up a crack system.
The moon light was amazing. so bright that you needed your head lamp to see past your shadow on the rock. The first two pitches were wicked with a few face moves but mainly up a nice corner crack to a huge belay ledge. There me and Dave spit off into the unknown with torches on our head and no guide book. This was the first time me or Dave had climbed this peak so we were very much blind for the whole rest of the climb.
We found the crack that we needed to climb to reach the top. Dave gose first all I see and hear is Daves torch bobbing and weaving up the rock, and the
So High..... upSo High..... upSo High..... up

Dave and me high up on Thumb Peak
ever so frecuent "I think this is the way, but I can't tell" as dave worked his way up the rock, then my very frecuent responce "just go for it, dude. I got ya." I not sure that gave dave any comfort in his climbing.
Last pitch, my turn to lead. I had never placed any gear on lead, but fuck it theres only one way to learn, for me at least. 30m pitch one bolt, sweet ass. First placment a-ok good to go. Climb ten meters to the next bolt, Safe for now. The crack was amazing, a perfect fit for fingers With a great lay back crack at the top. The cool thing that I have now found out about placing gear is you can put them were and when you want. Unlike bolts where you feel the need to clip because the fact there already there. Last gear placment bomber, last ten meters of runout went smooth with added butt puckering factor(ABPF for short). At the top with the moon beaming down on us, and the limestone pilars in the distance Surrounded us like a misty graveyard at night with head stones scatered across the country side.
In the end everyone got down safe and coming out of it with a wicked experience. Well worth it, As I look at my watch that read 2:30am "fuck Dave were going climbing tomorrow" Dave adds "no problem man I will see you in the morning, We will head out around noon." Its 4:30 now no sign of Dave.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb