Yangshuo


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
July 16th 2005
Published: July 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

World Full of FriendsWorld Full of FriendsWorld Full of Friends

Crazy drunken maddness down the main street of Yanshuo
In the month and a half that I have been in Yangshuo I have not really seen China. Yangshuo is a hard place to get the full cultural experience of the region. Full of tourists all following the same path like a herd of blind sheep, which is good in a sense because it makes it easy to get a way from the steady flow of westerners with there cameras and camcorders ready for action. This is not to say that I have not had an awesome time here, I have gained a life time of friends from all over the world and found an wicked place to work here at Chinaclimb. Chinaclimb is the coolest guiding company in Yangshuo by far. Its sole purpose is to create a chilled out atmosphere for clients, staff and friends to come in hang out and go out climbing, kayaking, biking and many more adventures. There is nothing better than coming back after a long day of pulling down on rock or floating down the mighty Li River to a few ice cold brews to dull the aches and pains of the day. My main purpose in coming to Yangshuo was for the
Epic DayEpic DayEpic Day

An epic day of crag hunting which ended in a diapointing find. FUCK!!
endless sea of rock climbing that surrounds the area. With limestone pillars exploding into the sky in every direction, it creates an ideal spot for China's climbing meca. Not only has the climbing blown me away but the landscape is like some where I might see in my most wild psychedelic dreams.
The days go by like this; Get up at ten or eleven maybe one depending on the night before, coffee first then breakfast, chill for an hour get climbing gear ready leave for the crags. Climb until sunset smoke a spliff head for home. Get back, have dinner , time to hit the bars. Drink and be merry until three or four maybe even five or six in the morning, repeat process. Every once in awhile I treat my self to an hour message for three dollars, life is good. The best thing that I have done for myself during this is to live by one saying, "Live for the lifestyle, stay free and wild you will be happy and life will be fun and exciting."
It is hot as fuck here in Yanshuo now. The humididy up to 60-70%. The only saving grace is the abundence of rivers and swiming holes around the area. We go climbing and when we are done you might as well jump into the water with all you clothes on. If you love climbing as much as I do you just deal with it a take it like a man, I guess.
I am pretty excited for Kristie to get here and to move on to Vietnam for more climbing in a different setting. I hear that Vietnam is a sweet country to check out the only down side is that you always need to keep an eye out for people trying to rip you off. I think that that might be the case in most of the countries in Asia

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb