China=Old Staci


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 23rd 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Being the baby in a family means you always feel just like that- the baby. It means for years I rolled my eyes at my parents vocabulary, telling them to stop using 'old fart' words and told my sister her fashion was no longer acceptable. I've always been the one in my family to keep others up on the newest IM phrase or fashionable clothing item, although some would argue my fashion sense is pretty questionable. When I graduated from college and started out in the working world, I was only 20 and always nervous for my colleagues to find out my real age.

Well, finally, I've been reassured that I'm not such a baby. I'm not so young. I played a trivia game with my students yesterday and when the question was "How old is Teacher Staci?" I got a bunch of laughs and answers of "FIFTY!!!" Yes, they were primarily cracking themselves up...but then it hit me. When I was 16, I thought 23 WAS really old. And boring. And totally uncool.

I'm there, my friends. Sorry, familia. You'll have to officially look to 6-year-old Amelia to keep you updated on what's cool.

Advertisement



23rd September 2009

age
I know how you feel about the kids guessing your age---when they yell 20 to me it's great but when one smartie yells out ninety....well....time to retire! love, mamac ps you must LOVE my fashions
27th September 2009

OMG
That's all I have to say. I'll still look to you for my "hip" lingo.

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb