Cherishing every moment.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I hate violence. I hate death. I hate sad things. (Who doesn't?) Inevitably after watching a sad movie or reading a book where someone dies, I cuddle up next to Martin and cry for awhile. It scares me so much.

Someone I've known since I was 5 died today.

Growing up, he was just my dorky older brother's best friend who made fun of me and sometimes really annoyed me.

Death isn't fair. He fought in the war. He became blind from a war injury. He returned, got happily married, finished his bachelors degree and was starting to adjust to life in a completely different way. He had multiple surgeries. Then, in the early morning of September 24th, he passed away from unknown complications due to this last surgery.

After all that?! Really?

It makes me so angry. So angry. He deserved a lifetime of happiness with his family.

I wish I wasn't all the way in China, away from being able to comfort anyone there.

I know that I'll hug Martin tighter tonight and try not to get mad about the little things in life. I'm still here.

We may be far away, but we love you all more than you know. We're living our dreams while we still can...and that's the best any of us can hope for in this life. Don't ever pass up a chance to tell someone you love them or to do what it is you really want in life.

Advertisement



25th September 2009

Love
Staci~ We love you! We Love Martin! And know that will never change, Here are some hugs to get you thru a tough night. XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX
26th September 2009

Your in our thoughts
Staci and Martin you are in our thoughts and prayers. You are correct death is not fair and we should cherish every little moment. China at times can get us down at times, but we still have life the greatest thing ever.

Tot: 0.429s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb