Chiwan Left Fort Park


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
February 2nd 2023
Published: July 25th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I took the subway to Chiwan again, this time to make my way to Chiwan left Fort Park. It's pretty close to Wen Tianxiang Memorial Park, which I went to a few days previously. If I had know, I probably should have visited them together, but never mind. It was about a twenty minute walk to the park. My map app directed me up the stairs I had seen on my previous visit and then it was pretty much just go in a straight line. I think the route skirted the edge of the other park. I was quite surprised that there was no actual path, so I had to walk on the road and the well trodden path on the grass. The road was quite apart from the odd few lorries coming along it. If I was anywhere else in the world, it would have felt a bit sketchy, but China is very safe. There were a few buildings that looked like factories and I could also see bits and pieces of the port.

I came to the entrance to the park, and started the walk up Yingzui hill. Luckily, the road was not too steep. I wish I could have seen the view down to the port, but the trees were all too tall and thick, so blocked the view. The path split and there was a traditional style gate and some stairs that you could take or continue along the road. I opted to go through the gate as it was pretty. I just hoped that there wasn't too many stairs. My wish came true as there were only a few stairs before they ended at a small plaza. The fort was first built during the reign of the Qing Dynasty in 1669, and there was a left fort and right fort. I don't know what happened to the right fort, but it doesn't seem to exist anymore. I got some slightly better views of the port here, but still not great. A few steps away, there was a picnic place and a couple of people were enjoying their lunch in this nice spot. I walked up to the statue, which is of Lin Zexu, who was a politician and philosopher known for his role in the First Opium War. The statue looked great against the bright blue sky. The views of the port were, once again, a little better from up here, but still distorted by the trees.

I could see the remaining cannon across the way. I hoped that I could get up close to it, but wouldn't be surprised if it was cordoned off. I headed over and through the little alleyway. On one side there were some small buildings that I presumed the park workers used and on the other side there was some kind of stone surrounded in glass for conservation. I presume that it was part of the fort. It's nice that you could see it. I was in luck as the stairs leading up to the cannon were not roped off so I headed up to take a closer look. There had been 12 canons (I think spanning both forts), but now this is the only one left. The canons were used during the two Opium Wars. It was nice to see a little piece of history. I had a look at the canon. All the trees had grown in, blocking the view in the canon's sight line so it was hard to imagine what it had been like back in the day. I did get some good views off to one side though.

Back down from the canon, I re-joined the path winding around the hill. After a few steps, I came to another set of stairs that were leading up the hill, so I took those. It only took a few minutes to reach the top-ish. I had seen a mast covered with satellites and communication things, so had wanted to get a closer look. I was surprised to see what looked like a house up there. Well, I wasn't sure if it was a house or an office as it did look a bit too big to be a house, but had a sun lounger outside of it and a small garden/vegetable patch. I could see some sheds in a shaded clearing so went for a look at those. However, when I got closer there were signs saying that they were military/border patrol property and to stay away so I happily obliged. Also, since I had just found out that the area was military, I decided not to venture further up the road or get my camera out.

I walked down the hill following the road that wound down. There was a point where I could see the view of the coast that I'd seen from the other park the other day. I could also see the bridge spanning to Hong Kong that spans Shenzhen Bay. As I walked further, there was a gap in the trees where there were some good views out to sea. There was a bloke there, who I think was telling me it was the South Sea, or maybe he was telling me it was Hong Kong in the distance. I also hopped over the barrier to get a better view and some photos. After a few minutes walk, I was back by the gate and headed to the entrance. I liked the park, it was quiet and peaceful. I wish I'd brought a picnic as it would have been a great lunch spot.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



25th July 2023

rade prirodnolecenje.in.rs
good article
24th August 2023

Peaceful parks
In what's been a manic week, I'm glad I took the time out to read this blog - it was so peaceful and calming. And yes, sounds ideal for a picnic! :)
30th August 2023

Thank you!
Glad you enjoyed the calm and I hope that things are less manic now :)

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb