Dim sum of life in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
November 9th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

She told me her nameShe told me her nameShe told me her name

But, I'm lucky if I even recognize them as one of my students. I know she is one of my students in grade 7. (Because it was a grade 7 field trip...and she was there)
Because I didn't know what dim sum was until I arrived in China, I will explain. It is basically like tapas, if anyone knows of that, where many small dishes are at the table and everything is passed around and shared. It is a traditionally Chinese meal, especially in the Cantonese areas of china. Cantonese is a dialect of the Chinese language, that is spoken in the South, especially in Hong Kong. Cantonese and Mandrian have the same Chinese Characters, but completely different ways of pronounciation. I proudly cannot speak either, but make a pittiful attempt at Mandrian every so often.

Enough background, now the dishes. Things have not but dull, but not "I crashed a motorbike exciting" so I thought I would throw together a little light meal of recent life activities in Shenzhen....enjoy!


Field Trip...now, you may remember, I missed out on the earlier field trip, because I didn't know anything about the field trip until I effectively showed up to an empty classroom....I was determined to not miss out another possible day of no classes....um..i mean field trips. It is hard tough, because I can never quite understand what exactly is going on....is the
My tour guidesMy tour guidesMy tour guides

because I couldn't understand the real tour guide for the day's field trip, I roped these girls into leading me around.
field trip on thursday or friday? To the museum or an amusement park? With grade 8 or grade 7? So we leave at 7am or 8am? Can I go....or do I have to teach? The uncertainity would really drive an american crazy! End story.....I did get to go, we left at 8ish, with grade 7, on Friday (grade 8 went on Thursday) to both an musuem and the amusement park. The best part of the day was...when the temporary people in orange showed up. Yes, that is correct....in china, there are "field trip people" who spend the whole day watching your students, why you and the rest of fellow teachers sit down to a full course meal...... now that sounds delicious.


Speaking of delicious and meals and chinese people....Eli and Jamie were the host and hostess to a meeting of cultures. 4 americans, 4 chinese teachers, 1 highschool student, 1 daughter, a big bowl of spaghetti carbanara, and many bottles of drinks....sounds pretty average and not very exciting, but this, this night is exactly why I came to china.....the sights are amazing, traveling is exciting, the food is, well always and adventure, but I choose this place so
Class picture.  Grade 7 class 1Class picture.  Grade 7 class 1Class picture. Grade 7 class 1

there are 8 class. 45 students each...can we say, "that took a long time"
far away from home, so far away from what is normal (peeing in a hole is NOT normal) because I wanted to be apart of a community not for a day, not for a week, not even for a month....I wanted to become apart of that community....to have friends, share stories, play basketball...all the normal things, but do them in a completely different setting. Traveling to bali, renting a motorbike, watching a lasershow in Hong Kong....that was not normal. Eating dinner, sharing stories, laughing... that is normal. As weird and simple as that seems, that is why I'm here.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Just say NO! Chinese styleJust say NO! Chinese style
Just say NO! Chinese style

the first part of the field trip was to a battle site of the Opium war. (Which Britian and China fought over the drug Opium, China lost, UK got H.K. and China became defender of the world against drugs)
Drug-free PledgeDrug-free Pledge
Drug-free Pledge

all of the students had to raise their right fists and pledge never to take drugs....whatever happened to the D.A.R.E. program
Drug-free PledgeDrug-free Pledge
Drug-free Pledge

all of the students had to raise their right fists and pledge never to take drugs....whatever happened to the D.A.R.E. program
Since everyone is drug-free....Since everyone is drug-free....
Since everyone is drug-free....

20 minutes in a musuem....2 hours at the local amusement park....We shipped the kids off with some orange shirted people with whistles and went and had a nice lunch...another reason to love china!
Dinner Party!!Dinner Party!!
Dinner Party!!

Saturday night dinner: pasta, salad, chinese teachers, foreign teachers, unlimited drinks, and one long and funny counting game
Lost in TranslationLost in Translation
Lost in Translation

If their english was as bad as our chinese...it would have been a long night, but thankfully...not too much was lost in translation
Mary having her own party!Mary having her own party!
Mary having her own party!

Does mary ever need anyone around to have a good time?


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb