Birthday Fun!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
September 9th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Like all years since I turned 19, I celebrated with multiple birthdays. In GZ I had two small parties, both special in their own way.

Last weekend my friend Jane and I headed down the street to a little bar that was opened by some of her former students last term. It's a cute little place, and thanks to the rain storm (think water up to my ankles), it wasn't very busy. A lot of the teachers here aren't big drinkers, which doesn't bother me a bit. Jane would be in this group, so I was quite pleased that we went out for drinks at all. They made her a drink and named it after her, and I ordered a grasshopper. Quite often in China mixed drinks don't taste quite the way I expect them to, which is disappointing; my grasshopper was right on. We chatted the night away and then ran home dodging what we guessed were the deepest puddles. It took my shoes two days to dry.

Saturday was the proper party. A few of us met up at the only place in Peizheng that serves western food for some pizza. I think pizza is the perfect birthday meal. We stayed for quite a while, swapping stories and laughing till our sides hurt. While I didn't always know the history (I am joining a complete group, most of whom have known each other for 2 years or more), I did learn a lot about most of the people and like them even more now! After pizza we all came back to my apartment for cake! It was my apartment's great unveiling and this seemed the best time to do it. Jane had baked me a chocolate cake (from scratch) and slathered it in chocolate frosting. It was (and still is) the best cake I've ever had. More stories followed, and when people started rubbing their eyes they helped me clean up and went home. It was a very special evening.

On Tuesday I went out with my mentor and a few other people for more pizza and then to the bar for some imported beer. One friend brought me a Cuban cigar, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Another bought me cheesecake and put a candle in it (which refused to light). More stories, more laughs, and definitely some craziness. Yet another wonderful birthday party.

Now I
Teamwork!Teamwork!Teamwork!

It takes two people to cut this cake!
am recovering, eating the rest of my cake (it's still moist!), and feeling quite lucky to be surrounded by such wonderful people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Me and the "Godfather"Me and the "Godfather"
Me and the "Godfather"

No, not that kind of godfather. He looks out for all of us, sort of like Roy did for me in SZ.
It won't light!It won't light!
It won't light!

I think it took us at least 3 tries.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb