32?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
September 2nd 2010
Published: September 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

And here I am once again, staring at the calendar, wondering where the time went. Another year has passed and now I'm 32. Perhaps it's because life in the US seems so long ago (even this summer seems like eons ago), but my twenties are a distant memory. 30 seems like it was decades ago and like it was yesterday all at the same time.

Life in China has flown. Have I really been here two years already? Am I really thirty-TWO? In some ways it seems like that can't be possible because I feel so young. (I firmly believe age is in the mind.) In other ways it feels too young because of how much I've seen and done and grown in the past two years. Whoever said life begins at forty never moved half-way around the world and started over.

So I'm older. I'm okay with that. I'm wiser. I am certainly okay with that. I hope to keep adding to those two columns one day at a time, for many years to come.

I have one outing planned for this weekend as well as my party. And then another celebratory get-together next week. Some things never change; I still love to celebrate my birthday. I'm pretty happy to be here, and in my book, that's worth celebrating.


Advertisement



4th September 2010

You're not 32
Think of this as the 3rd anniversary of your 29th birthday. :-)
4th September 2010

nah
I'd rather think of it as the 2nd anniversary of my 30th birthday. Because at 29 I didn't know I was going to China, but at 30 I was already here. And that's when life got to be the way I like it.

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb