Christmas Is Coming.......


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
December 22nd 2009
Published: December 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am writing this after a very busy day, but I had a big smile on my face at the end of the day.

Today I woke up at 6:45am or should I say the alarm went off at 6:45; then I crawled out of bed at 7:07 to catch the school bus at 7:30am. I had to assist Sophie with her speech at 8am until 11am even though I didn't teach my 3 classes until 2-5:15pm. After working on her speech, listening to her recite the speech and working on possible questions the judges could ask her Sophie thought she had enough after 2 hrs of work. This was all fine with me since I wouldn't get home until 8:15pm tonight.

Before I left school Sophie asked what my schedule was for Wednesday. I told her I teach 3 classes in the morning of the 4 periods then leave for Futian for Chinese class. (my school thinks I still go to class but I just take the free ride to the center, then shop before returning to Longgang) She doesn't teach any of her classes this week for her only duty is to prepare for the speech competition. So she managed to get my 1st period class covered by the English teacher or actually she went with me when I asked Samantha to cover my class. Luckily the English teacher of Class 10 is one of my friends at the school.

No questions asked my class was covered and now I will work with Sophie for 2 hours on Wednesday morning also.

This week my Christmas gift to my students was a Christmas movie. They get to choose A Christmas Story or Home Alone. I have taught 4 classes so far and they all have chosen HOME ALONE. I love this movie but once on Monday for 40 minutes, then 3 classes periods in a row on Tuesday was a bit much. Last week I showed them a slide show about Christmas including the religious aspect, secular aspect and played Joy to the World, Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer and Jingle Bells.

Oddly, in China they know Jingle Bells and We Wish You a Merry Christmas even though they don't celebrate the holiday. I had a teacher's 6 year old daughter sing me We Wish You a Merry Christmas on Monday night, TOO CUTE.

Nowism for the day-After teaching 5th and 6th period I went back to my desk to relax until 8th period when I was to teach my last class of the day. Samantha came up to and said the teacher of 7th period Class 1 wants to switch with you. I was confused at first but she wanted me to teach 7th period and she would teach 8th period, so back to the classroom building I walked to teach Class 1 now instead of in 50 minutes.

Today, I was given 5 Christmas gifts from students and a gift from Eric and Abby, owners of A+ English where I tutor. I was so touched by the thoughtfulness of my students and Eric and Abby. It made the holidays seem a little more real here in China. Sure we have seen lots of people wearing Santa Hats, Christmas trees and decorations in Hong Kong but to receive a gift from Chinese was AWESOME. See the pictures of the gifts below. Missing is a Dove Chocolate bar which I ate at my desk during my 8th period break and also a cute cupcake snow globe that said thanks inside.

Pete was
Red Pashima Scarf from Eric & AbbyRed Pashima Scarf from Eric & AbbyRed Pashima Scarf from Eric & Abby

I received a red scarf for Christmas last year from Scott & Georgianna which I wear in China lots.
a little bummed cause I got lots of gifts but his Class 6 did get him a Christmas card.

After school I taught English Corner since Thursday is Christmas Eve I moved the class to today. Then caught the 6:10pm school bus to the nearest bus stop to A+ English for my 90 minute lesson with three 3/4 year olds.

The Shenzhen Education Bureau is hosting a banquet for all CTLC teachers at Silver Lake Resort in Futian on Christmas Eve. We stayed at this resort when we first arrived in Shenzhen for 3 nights before moving to our apartments on August 22nd. There will be lots of Chinese food, a talent show, Secret Santa and lots of drinking I am sure. All Chinese banquets have wine and baijou(white liquor) with lots of gang bei(bottoms up) Most Chinese men are hammered by the end and the women don't drink much, if at all. The banquet starts at 6pm but all schools were advised to be there by 4pm so this means no teaching for us on Christmas Eve. A group of us couples will be singing Jingle Bells in Chinese at the talent show. I will be sure to get a video of this. We even get a free hotel room for the night so we will be waking up Christmas morning in a Chinese hotel. We said this year would be full of new experiences and this is one of them.

Friday we are provided a buffet style breakfast then must check out by 11am. We will then head to Yantian to our friends Kris and Kelly's apartment for Christmas day. Should be lots of fun but like no other Christmas that is for sure.

We Love You All and Wish Everyone a Merry Christmas. Oh yeah it was 67 degrees here today 😊))





Advertisement



22nd December 2009

Christmas
Neat little gifts there and also the thought is more important!!!! HAve fun at your party and enjoy the days with friends....We love you and sure was good talking to you...I thought I did good on cutting down an Gifts here at home and when they all got put under the tree last night and Your's and Pete's are not there...Dad is not so sure what I am talking about on cutting back!!!!
22nd December 2009

Christmas wishes
Hi Elyse and Pete - We wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! We are in Louisiana and went to New Orleans yesterday. Today is our Christmas with the boys and grandkids. we will head back to Illinois tomorrow and be there for Christmas Eve with family. Caitlin leaves on 26th to ski in Colorado with Sam's family. Hope you have a good Christmas - I'm so glad your parents are meeting you in Australia. Paulette
26th December 2009

gifts
Your students surprised you !!! I like all of the pictured gifts!! I forgot to ask...what was the result of Pete's MRI?? Your Dad is amazed at your blog! The one of the soccer game...he could not believe where you got to sit and all of the fun!!!!!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb