Oh please, GOD, no more scuttling......


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
September 5th 2011
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Shiny FaceShiny FaceShiny Face

Blotting papers do no good. You just have to get used to dripping, and being wet with sweat.
Ok, so, yesterday, I needed a LOT of sleep. I came home in the afternoon, and crashed onto my bed at about 4 pm. I slept till midnight. Rose, showered, took out my contacts, (!! LOL) and took a trip to the kitchen as my stomach was rumbling. I turned on the light and saw it......! OMG. A cockroach ON THE COUNTERTOP!! EW, EW, EW!! I froze in terror and disgust. It scuttled away before I could even think about ending its miserable life. More bleach, was all I could think. Tomorrow, I will rebleach the counters. And all the dishes. And....does this mean, they could be in my cozy bed, my refuge from all this CHinese insanity? Aaarrrrrgggghhhhhh! That thought was the worst. Could the cockroaches come home in my suitcase? OMG, I cannot have that. Are they scuttling around everything in the kitchen? We have, to date, kept all our food in the fridge to avoid this. So every morning, now, I will re-bleach all countertops and we will have to make sure to remove all food scraps and take our garbage out regularly. Joyce and I are having a discussion about this as we are enjoying our breakfast
3 Amigas3 Amigas3 Amigas

Me, Joyce and Dawna, and you didn't get to see the "Chippendale" waiter, who prepared our food shirtless and then placed it on the table for us.
here at the table. We have made some Australian oatmeal, with honey and milk. It is a good breakfast and it feels safe to us and we know it's clean. And I had some real coffee this morning in my little bitty coffee press. Somehow, though, it is just not the same as the stuff we have back home, but it is a reasonable approximation and will suffice. I am buying UHT milk because I trust that process of having it heated up so that it will last on the counter top until its opened.
Today, we have another staff meeting, and will have Tues, Wed. and Thursday off. We will teach on Fri., Sat. and Sunday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My new best friendMy new best friend
My new best friend

Bleach. Ah....thank you God for this elixir of cleanliness. LOL This bottle is already empty not even 1 week in.
Back of bottleBack of bottle
Back of bottle

There are many uses for bleach in China and you can read all about them for yourself.......! LMAO!
My Coffee pressMy Coffee press
My Coffee press

Isn't this just darling? I washed it (read bleached it) LOL this morning and pressed my first real coffee. It saved my life, I think, esp. since I had seen the cockroach earlier this morning.


5th September 2011

cockroach
OMG!!! I don't think I could have gone back to my bed after that encounter....How gross!!!! Make sure you check your shoes before putting them on, you never know what might be hiding in them lol!!! Love your pictures. Have a great day! Suz
5th September 2011

Cockroaches and Bleach!
I'm having such a good time reading your blog, Carolyn! Despite the bugs, and the smells, and the wonderful toilet-less bathrooms, you must be having the experience of a life time! I'm envious of your adventure!!
6th September 2011

I dont\' know how to respond to that....cockroach??!!?? OMG! YUCK! I guess you were bound to see one over there. Just don\'t become friends with themLOL Do those guys drink bleach? OMG it\'s their elixer. (hee hee). I\'m glad you found a Walmart, maybe your saving grace, they carry alot of Bleach.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb