Yenson and Painting


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yenson's back! I'm so thrilled that he's finally back. I was waiting a long time for him to come back. I walked into the Salon today before my painting lesson and there he was sitting there. I immediately walked up to him and put my hands on his shoulders as I stood behind him looking at him in the mirror. "When did you get back?" I asked him. He turned around and gave me a very fierce handshake "Yesterday" he replied. He's a really awesome guy and definitely one of my closest friends at the Salon. last night after tutoring I went back as requested by Camillo and sat there for quite some time studying Cantonese and making a couple of phone calls before they finally finished talking. Even though I was trying to stay out of it I still managed to hear some of their meeting, all about how to more efficiently create the waiting list for their clients. After hearing them argue and discuss it for a good half an hour I was thinking to myself "I think the best way for them to do it is to work it just like a restaurant with a waiting list based on when the person comes in and calling out people's names to take them in to get their hair done. Afterwards I told Hui my idea and she told everyone else who was still hanging around at midnight (when they finally finished). Yenson hung back after the meeting. Kast looked over at him and said "Don't you want to head home with us?" He motioned to Camillo and said he had some things to do. Camillo got me set up to do more subtitles for his hair cutting movie and then he and Yenson had a good discussion (completely in Hunan dialect so I couldn't exactly follow what was going on but knew they were enjoying talking to each other after such a long time). Afterwards the two of them invited me to stop and eat some dinner with them. Camillo excused himself to get something to drink after a little bit and I asked Yenson what the two of them were talking about. He said that he's getting a slight promotion from where he was before he left for Hunan and that Camillo was just explaining things to him about it. Then he asked me about Stone. "How's your boyfriend?" "I don't have one." "What about that guy?" "He left saying that things weren't working out without telling me what was going on." "Did you all have sex?" "I don't know" I answered playfully trying to avoid the question. "Aah-hah!" "But I have a new boyfriend now." "What, really? Already?" he started laughing. "Yeah" I pointed to where Camillo was sitting and Yenson laughed again knowingly "Oh, right." "Who's the new boyfriend?" Camillo asked as he walked back into the Salon. He had heard us talking but not seen me point. Yenson avoided the answer quite sneakily and I said "My sister has a new boyfriend" giving Yenson a wink. "Yeah, it's me" Yenson answered with the same playfulness. Camillo was looking down at something and Yenson continued "her new boyfriend is" he took his hand and pointed way over Camillo's head at Camillo a couple of times and when Camillo looked up immediately turned it into a fist going down a couple of times in an opposite direction "I don't know". Camillo let the subject drop and Yenson and I were happy. We chatted for a little while and Yenson asked me when I was going home. I said I didn't know. Camillo mentioned that he was getting a new apartment for himself and I asked him if I could stay with him for a few weeks. He said "what, with me?" and I said "no, can you look for another place for me?" and he said yes. He's not too much into the public display of our relationship so only afterwards did he agree that I could stay with him for those few weeks. I told them my friend from the US, Mandy, might be coming to China to visit me and when I told them she was bigger than Yenson it took them quite by surprise. After all Yenson is a big boy and here he's considered fat (even though he's just a fairly normal sized boy back in the US). He has practically no fat, just big bones all around. Anyways, I'm pretty thrilled he's back and I'm going to be seeing more of him. That's always awesome.

Yesterday was my first day to paint a picture with my calligraphy teacher. I haven't painted a picture since middle school. He did some and then had me do the same bit before he did some more, copying each other with a little bit of coaching on it. I don't think it turned out too bad considering it was my first in an awful long time. It was a really nice pelican standing in front of some water with the sun setting in the back. Next to him was a slab of rock and a tree hanging over him. I'll put a picture up later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb