The Move


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
June 24th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I worked my bum off as usual. From 9am-5:15pm I had class. Then after class I went over to Peace Plaza. The place was an absolute mad house. No joke. I have never seen that many people in there. I went up to the fourth floor as usual and began walking over to the Salon when I noticed the balcony that looks down onto the first floor next to the Salon was completely jam packed with people. There was no more space at all for people to stand and look down. Dennis was walking towards me and I looked at him "What in the world is going on?" He didn't know but I asked one of the other people in the Salon and he told me that there was some famous actress there today. I was hungry and knew I probably wouldn't know the actress from the man on the moon so I decided to walk downstairs and get some food. I also needed to buy a toothbrush. On the way down the escalator I saw her sitting under the balconies signing books on the first floor. Sure enough I had no idea who she was. She was wearing sunglasses and wasn't even that good looking, in my opinion. The only place I was able to catch a glimpse of her was on the escalator itself because all of the floors all the way around were jam packed with people looking at her from the balconies. I don't really enjoy being around that many people, something about me that has never changed since the time when I used to hate big cities. So I tried to avoid them as much as possible. After going to the grocery store and getting something to eat I went outside to sit on the picnic benches outside of the movie theater and read. It was a really nice place to camp out. I texted Lucy and Julia about the famous actress and then Craig called inviting me out to dinner with him at Wong's. Even though I had already eaten I decided to go with him and eat a little bit more. After all I had nothing better to do. I went back to the Salon to get my stuff and Camillo told me to take it all because they would be moving to the other half of the Salon that night.

I went home very quickly and went back out to meet Craig. We sat for a while eating and talking about Camillo's Visa. Craig had been through the process to get his previous wife and girlfriend into Australia and after I explained what had happened he realized that the two are very similar in their approaches to immigration and, intermixed with our eating, explained to me how he thought would be the best way to approach it all.

After our little meeting I went back to the Salon and helped them move. At first they were taking the approach "She's a girl don't let her do the big things". At one point Yenson actually insisted that someone else help him move one of the mirrors because I couldn't do it and so I simply took the mirror and moved it all by myself. At which point he stopped complaining and helped me. Camillo was complaining that I couldn't move the lockers so again I took the lockers and moved them all by myself. After that I had no more complaining. There were other workers there who do the construction itself and I got some "Hello" and strange faces from them in the beginning but they also got used to it after a while and I even had one of them teasing me a bit for having dust all over myself while we were cleaning it up from the floor of the other half of the Salon. The boys had a great time moving some of the things which I helped them with. Some things were so big that they needed most of the Salon members to move. The lockers were too big to get out by pushing and would have ruined the floor so they had to lean them over and carry them out. That along with the moving of the fake walls in between the two halves of the Salon that they're working on and the front desk had to be moved by a lot of people and took a lot of "1, 2, 3 HEAVE" which was both enjoyable and amazing to see that many people do. At one point a few of the boys were down on their knees scrubbing the floors with rags to make sure they were as clean as possible and I just grabbed a rag and joined them. Unfortunately it was one of the new rags and I got a little bitched out by Camillo for it but the other boys who were cleaning the floor knew I didn't know the difference and just gave me another rag to help them with. There were a bunch of comical incidents where people ended up doing stupid things and at one point Sayles ended up curled in a ball on the floor laughing hysterically. The other boys were laughing too but after they stopped laughing Sayles was still laughing and they had to calm him down. It was great fun. Sayles has some health thing wrong with him that makes it difficult for him to hold heavy things and also difficult for him to cut hair, hence why he works as the front desk man (and is considered fairly high up in the ranks as he knows what he's talking about with a lot of things that the others don't - like computers) but he had to step out of the way for some of it and not help us carry some of the things. At one point he moved one of the smaller desks that's part of the front desk and he was struggling a lot with it. Any of the other boys could have picked it up with no problem but he couldn't. So I offered to help him but he insisted I let him do it himself. So I did. Finally at around midnight we stopped and Yenson, Camillo and I walked home together. Joking around with each other the whole time. In the end I raced home to get to the bathroom and finally go to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb