Palaces, Parks, Pergolas, Hutongs and Temples


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
November 6th 2010
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.9165, 116.391




Tiananmen Square


Day 2: I got up early and headed to Tiananmen Square, which has huge mausoleum to Chairman Mao and the long queues to see his mummified body. At the end of Tiananmen Square lies the Gate of Heavenly Peace and portrait of Mao hangs above the main entrance. The gate marks the beginning of the Forbidden City, which was off limits for 500 years apart from the Emperor, his family and staff. The price for uninvited admission was instant execution.

The Forbidden City

The Forbidden City covers vast area with many building. This inner city, housed all the people and supplies that were necessary for the Emperor. There are many tourists here but I started very early in morning to avoid crowds and I also enjoyed the Imperial gardens which are really well kept with Pavilions, Pergolas and flowers but still there were so many people everywhere including Chinese tourists from other parts of China.



Jingshan Park : The Park with a View

Then I went to Jingshan park to escape from crowds of tourists, I climbed the 5 pergolas in Jingshan Park the middle, higher pergola has the
panoramic view of Beijing city and Forbidden City.This pergola also has Buddha temple and many people were praying here with incence and making donation. It was cold and very windy up there but the views were stunning and good photo opportunity here. I spent some time in Jingshan Park as the locals were exercising, dancing and singing there,some locals with their families were enjoying a picnic lunch there.

Locals at Jingshan park

As I am keen on music, I stopped at the group who were performing near exit to the Beihai Park twice, I hanged around there for some time, clapping and loving every moment. After that we got talking, they said that one of the singers was from Beijing Opera and if I was interested, they were performing next Sunday.



I checked with David, who spoke good English if I was on right exit gate to Beihai Park, I explained to him that I had very little time to do everything so he offered to take me around for the best bits. I could see/ read the signs that he was of kindred spirit and a genuine man so I agreed 😊 It was midday and many
people everywhere so I felt perfectly safe walking with a very kind gentleman in a public place, he sang and played flute very well while we were walking.
I offered to buy him coffee or a meal but he said as our common interest was music that was enough, A real, nice gentleman; See Picture of David near Beihai Park.

Beihai Park

Beihai Park is a beautiful park in a tranquil spot in the middle of big city and it was good getaway from the huge crowds in Forbidden City, we saw the wall of the nine Dragon, Pavilions,Pergolas, Gazebos all incredibly beautiful. It was beginning of November and chilly, so there were no boats on the man made lake.


Hutongs "Water Well"

He also took me past the Hutongs which is a narrow street or alley which means "water well". Make sure you have your map with you as it is easy to get lost in the hutongs, It was very interesting walking the hutongs with little courtyards.

Huihai Lake

David warned me not to take the rickshaw due to scams and gave me his card in case of anything, I had a stroll around Huihai lake
which has interesting scenery with little bridges, many restaurants, bars and next stop was the Prince Gong's mansion.

Prince Gongs Mansion : Splendour of China's Imperial Past

Prince Gong's mansion is a traditional courtyard mansion with two stone lions guards at the main gate. These grand, exquisite buildings are a poignant reminder of the splendour of China's imperial past. I found a pretty lady who spoke some English and she translated the notes on the pictures in the exhibition, which was interesting. The gardens were very beautiful with rockery, artificial mountains, Pavilion and flowers. I queued up to go to the cave, in the tunnel which has the copy of the "FU" Chinese character carved by the Emperor Kangxi's. The garden has its own theatre and lovely flowers including Chinese wisteria, there is a Tea house converted from Bat hall but it was full of tourists, so I found a bench near the pond and I enjoyed watching the birds & ducks feeding after a long walk. It was very peaceful here, despite huge crowds in the Prince Gong's mansion.

Drum Tower

Then I took wrong turning at one hutong and I had to walk a lot, so I
tried to flag a taxi but the traffic was heavy and only one stopped for me but I had forgotten the guidebook with Chinese letters at Prince Gong's mansion, so I had to walk to Drum Tower as the driver did not understand me. Although my feet were very tired, walking is a good way to see everything here.

Rickshaw Men Scams

While I was walking many Rickshaw men approached me but I avoided taking the rickshaw as last thing, I needed was hassle from them. I heard that they quote you different price before the start of ride but demand 5-10 times more after the ride and they are not from Beijing.
Finally I crossed the road, which is not easy in the traffic and took bus 124/108 to the Lama temple. The bus was full and we were packed like sardines but I was very happy to get the ride as my feet refused to walk any more ..

Thank Goodness, I had studied the bus maps well in case I was not able to get a taxi, being a solo female, the bus route studying paid off and I knew my bearings well so
I got off at the right stop. I looked for Guozijian St, which was v near the bus stop, I walked to the Lama temple which was closing, I had to use all my charm to get in 😊 so they allowed me in for few mins.

Beautiful Lama Temple :

Lama temple has beautiful rooftops, stunning arches, tapestries, statues and lions, the Buddha shrine is huge and very beautiful. Then I walked to the Confucius temple on the same road which was now closed and I waited for the Xu Xiang Zhai restaurant to open.

The Xu Xiang Zhai restaurant

The Xu Xiang Zhai restaurant does a huge vegetarian buffet and the food was delicious. They had a table with a selection for hotpot but I did not understand and the couple next to me were laughing as I tried to eat the vegetables raw, then she signed to me when she got her hot pot, but I had eaten too much and I was full. The deserts were v yum 😊 I only paid 68 Yuan, which included food, drinks and desert. A real good bargain !! Later the monks came to eat here,
this restaurant is excellent for Vegetarians and even Non vegetarians too.

Lovely bus journey to hotel

My feet were sore so I did not want to climb the stairs of the subway Yonghegong so I took the bus 116 which took me to the corner of my hotel, It had been long day and I had walked very fast, starting very early in morning with hardly any breaks but I was very happy I had managed to see so much. This was lovely bus ride and I was able to see the shops buildings in the evening. The commentary on this bus was both in Mandarin and English. I made new friends in the Novotel hotel who were with a Swedish tour and they were surprised that I took public bus in a big city like Beijing. I was very exhausted and soaked my weary feet in the hot bath but it was another lovely day in this beautiful city.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb