Last Day in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

China Trip

Here are my stops. First to Beijing, then to Xi''an and then to Shanghai.

Let's bypass breakfast. You know the spiel.

On the way to the Emperial Summer Palace we drove by where all the opening ceremonies for the Olympics and track and field will take place. They have started work on it and it is amazing. I have a picture but the haze today was very thick and the picture was taken from the bus. It looks like a HUGE birds nest. It is not completed yet, but it is enough so that it is impressive.

After that we went to a silk rug factory where the process for creating silk rugs by hand was demonstrated. Of course, there was shopping opportunities. A high quality rug can take a couple of years for three women working continually to complete. A friend I have met on the trip was looking at a full size medium quality yellow rug for $6,200. I was looking at a small probably 3 by 3 foot green rug and it was listed at $900. We were offered huge discounts, but not enough that I thought I could afford it. BTW-my friend passed on hers too.

Then on to the Summer Palace. The Summer Palace. We walked around and looked at various highlights. The most interesting one being the "marble boat" that doesn't float. Matter of fact it was never intended to float. The Marble Boat was built in 1755 in Chinese style, imitating the sailing boats which Qianlong (1711-1799) took during his inspection to Southern China. As an old saying goes, "water can carry the boat as well as overturn it," meaning that water symbolizing the common people can uphold the royal boat, or it can swamp the boat. Emperor Qianlong had the huge Marble Boat fastened in the water to indicate the steadfast rule of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). According to our guide this Emperor was known for her extravagant ways that were to detriment of her people.

We ate there as the emperor would have. The color yellow was reserved for the royalty and could not be used by anyone else. All our china was a beautiful yellow color as well as the walls. It was very similar otherwise including the lazy susan used to servce the food.

Then for the highlight of the Beijing tourist attractions for me, The Great Wall. We access the Great Wall at Badaling. Badaling is located at Yanqing County, more than 70 kilometers northwest from the center of Beijing City. It took about one and a half hours to get there. We started seeing it off in the distance for about a half hour before we reached our access point. As far as you can see in any direction it snakes through the mountains. We arrived at 3:45pm and were told to return the bus by 5:45pm. Another thing that was amazing was the breeze that was there. It has been stifling hot during part of the day sometimes reaching well into the 90's. (Did I forget to mention that air conditioning is not widely used over here? Our hotel is air conditioned, but many of the places we went have only inside room air conditioners and not every room has these. These are air conditioners that stand upright in the corner of the room.) It was a good thing there was a breeze too, because there were parts of the wall that are incredibly steep. Some friends and I had heard that turning to the left would lead to a portion of the wall that had fallen down and not been restored. I wanted to be able to say we had walked to the end of the Great Wall. Little did I know it was steeper than had we turned to the right. It was so steep that coming back down there was a spot that I could not see the bottom steps from the top. Another thing that was absolutely shocking was The Great Wall should be called the Great Mall. We were bombarded by vendors at every tower for four of the seven towers we entered. Remember I referred to the vendors as being like fruit flies. Here they were again. They would follow you and constantly ask you to look at stuff. I can not even imagine carrying the merchandise up that wall. That part was annoying, but it paled in annoyance when I thought about the fact I WAS WALKING ON THE GREAT WALL.

One of the gentlemen that was walking in our group said it was a dream come true for him. I replied I had never even dared to dream it. Truly a highlight of my life.

For supper we went to a four star restaurant for hot pots. This is a mongolian based dish where each patron has a little pot (similar to a fondue pot) and the lazy susan is loaded down with vegetables, thinly sliced beef and lamb. The pot contains a meat based broth and you place whatever you want to eat in the broth to cook. It only takes a couple of minutes for most of the items. Then using your chopsticks you dip the cooked items out of the pot and dip them in various sauces. I didn't love the sauces so I bypassed that most of the time. Then to your plate. For those of you who have eaten at one of the area Mongolian restaurants it will sound a little similar. This particular restaurant had singers who gave us our own private show. The music they sang was VERY shrill, but you got use to it pretty quickly and some of our party even started oop, ooping to it. If you don't know what that is, it is when you raise your arm and pump it shouting oop, oop. It is a young thing. The music though shrill had a great beat.

Tomorrow morning we are to be downstairs at 6. We are to catch a plane to Xi'an. I would upload pictures, but again my battery is dead. I will charge my battery tonight.

One last thing. It has been wonderful here with Internet Access. It is fairly cheap in your room at $30 for four nights of broadband access. I heard from some of the others that there is a business center upstairs that you pay for by the minute and it only has dialup. The rate is twice what I have paid.

But I do not know what access I will have in Xi'an and Shanghai. If you do not hear from me then know that I can not get access for some reason. I will be back on as soon as I can.

Bambi




Advertisement



23rd June 2006

Enjoying
I am really enjoying your trip. I would absolutely love to be there with you!!!
23rd June 2006

I agree with Pat Hardee
You are doing an awesome job describing your trip. Thank you!
23rd June 2006

Colors
I think it is interesting that China's color for royalty is yellow, while our color for royalty is purple.
24th June 2006

Thank you for the dailey information. Gosh what you must be feeling about this. JHE
24th June 2006

Wall Walker
WOW! Now you can say you've walked to the end of the Great Wall. That will be something to tell the other hikers you meet when walking on the AT (Appalachian Trail). I'm praying you'll have internet access in Xi'an so you can keep sending us this wonderful information. LU, Allen
24th June 2006

Great Wall
Bambi, Boy are lucky to see some of the great parts of China. I have always wanted to go there. I was there when I was a baby and my daddy was in the service. It is amazing to read your story about your trip. You didn't happen to find out how long the Great Wall really was before it got damaged do you? Have you had good weather the whole time you have been there? You talk about your day but you do not talk about the weather except that it is hot. What type of internet service do they have over there? Do they have all the conviences that we have as far as the internet is concerned or are they more advanced then the United States? Well it been good talk later Glenn P.S. I found you
24th June 2006

The Great Wall
Seeing The Great Wall and having that experience. I can only echo words spoken previously from those reading your blog........."would love to be with you!" Sure hope you have internet. Looking forward to hearing more!
24th June 2006

Great Wall
What an experience to get to see The Great Wall. I, too, would love to be there with you. Sure hope you can access internet. Enjoy!
24th June 2006

OLympics and Great Wall
I love the Olympics. One day hope to go as a spectator. And The Great Wall. Wish I were on this trip with you! Thanks for sharing your trip with all of us!
27th June 2006

crowds
I wonder how the crowds are in the popular tourist areas.
27th June 2006

Great Wall
It sounds like climbing the Great Wall could be hazardous in some areas. Are there warning signs like DisneyLand?
28th June 2006

The Great Wall
WOW! The Great Wall sounds fascinating. I can just imagine how big it is if you could see it from 30 minutes away. The hand-woven silk rugs interest me too! They must be magnificant if they cost that much money.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb