Xian is BEAUTIFUL


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
June 24th 2006
Published: June 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Before I tell you about our day I want to answer a couple of questions.

How long is the Great Wall? The actual length of the Great Wall varies from different authors, but it ranges from 3,000 to 4,500 miles (3/4). The actual length of the Great Wall was at one time 6,000 miles long. After lots of vandalism and erosion, the wall has reduced to become what it currently is now. Length of Wall

What type of Internet access do they have? Broadband and dialup is all I know about.

Thanks for the question Glenn. Anyone is welcomed to send questions if you have them.

Xi'an - Pronounced (shee on)

We arrived in Xi'an today about 10:30. Flight was nice. It was sprinkling when we left Beijing. It was clear and hot when we reached Xi'an. After checking in to our VERY NICE hotel, (toothbrushes, razors and robes) are complimentary. There is someone who stands outside the elevator door and his only job as far as I can see is to push the button to open the elevator door from the outside. You enter and go on your merry way.

We have an hour and a half to get our rooms, freshen up and jump on the bus. From there we go to eat. I NEVER thought that cold french fries with catsup would taste so good. This was a western restautant. They had salad, but I didn't eat it even though we were assured it was fine for us. We have been advised NOT to drink any water from the tap. Not even to brush your teethor put ice in your drink. Bottled water is all we use. The Chinese water has microbes in it that the American stomach may have an unhappy reaction to. So the salad was a big thing. There was spaghetti, chopped steak, minestrone soup, fried fish chips and an assortment of Chinese food. It was buffet style instead the family style we have been eating.

Another thing we were not even offered chop sticks only forks. I kinda missed the chopsticks now.

Xi'an (she-on)

After lunch we rode around the city. Xi'an is a beautiful city, full of parks, greenery and flowers. The buildings are new and clean. They do not have the stark miliatary look of a lot of the buildings in Beijing. There are lots of the neon signs and digital signs like you see on pictures of Times Square.

We visited the Wild Goose Pagoda. This is currently a working Buddhist temple. The main building has been there over 1400 years old. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens with waterfalls and rock gardens. Just the type of serene site you would exprect at a Budist temple.

Well I have to go. I am nodding off here. Not much else happened either. Take care,





Advertisement



24th June 2006

Xi'an
Fantastic… We are so happy you have internet access in Xi’an and can still post to the blog. Keep up the great job you are doing! LU, Allen
25th June 2006

Xian
Wow! It seems like you are busy, busy, busy! I hope that Xian is a beautiful city, as I have heard it is. It was very interesting to hear that you were not offered chopsticks. That was kind of crazy, as you would think that Western dinnerware would not have permeated China. Or was it because the restaurant was geared toward Westerners with its theme? Hope you are having fun!
25th June 2006

Hello
Why could you not drink the water? Do they treat their water the same way we do? What is your honest opinion on the food? One day you say it is good and the next you say it is soooo Nasty. I created a blog myself for Ms. Jones class as a extra credit project. Do the schools there have sport teams like we do back in the states or do they just have proffesional teams. What type of school day do they have over there? Is it a 8 to 3 type of day or is it a longer day? How come your days are so long? Is there just so much to do and so little time to do it. I was wondering if you could bring me back a coin? I love their tea and in the states you just can't find it in this neck of the woods. If you know what I mean. Well I gave you enough to think about so I will get back with you later. Chow.........Glenn
26th June 2006

Experience
It sound like your having the experience of a life time. I wish I was there right about now.
26th June 2006

chop sticks are always more fun to watch people use than forks. it makes you work for your food, therefore making it taste better
26th June 2006

CIS110/module 4-Xian
I found the information about the Great Wall interesting. Though I have heard many things about how it was built, it never occurred to me about its length over time. It makes perfect sense that it would erode over time and become shorter, but "click". It is still an amazing architectual feat.
26th June 2006

CIS110/Module 4-xian cont'd
I also wanted to comment on the pronunciation of Xian. She-on is quite the opposite way I would have wanted to go with it. "zy-ann" is immediately what comes to mind. It's always nice to know the proper pronunciation of words.
27th June 2006

Hotel
Glad to hear you had all the modern conveniences at your VERY NICE hotel. And the guy who pushes the buttom on the elevator, what a job he has......meeting new people everyday! ENJOY your trip. It's passing quickly!
28th June 2006

Xi'an Sounds Wonderful
Xi'an sounds very beautiful! I would love to see the temple with the waterfalls and gardens. It sounds so peaceful and beautiful there.
29th June 2006

travels
Reading about your experiences in China reminds me of Turkey, generally of course. The people are extremely hospitable; don't drink the water; and the carpets (expect in Turkey you can get them without using much para [money])!!
30th June 2006

Xian
I think it is very cool that you get to visit this wonderful country and bring us along for the visit. I didn't know that the Great Wall was that long.
6th July 2006

Very Nice Hotel
I bet you are loving that hotel. The fact that they pay someone to push the buttons for the hotel is unbeleivable. I would love to see any pictures you have of that hotel; it sounds like a rich persons type place.
11th July 2006

Sounds great
Wow that place sounds great! I guess it was kind of nice to have both the city and country in the same place!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb